Smoked Gouda Cauliflower

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

This recipe was inspired by one in Dana Carpender’s 500 Low-Carb Recipes. Most people do not cook cauliflower casseroles with this particular cheese and it doesn’t melt easily.  But once it DOES melt, it truly transforms the ordinary into  the sublime.  In my opinion, it is the smoked Gouda that truly sets this dish apart from all the other cauliflower casseroles I have ever eaten.  I served it to my brother, who was once an executive chef at Top of the Mark in San Francisco and he RAVED about it!  It’s Atkins Induction friendly, too!   This recipe also appears in Volume 1 of Low Carbing Among Friends (click for more) by best-selling author Jennifer Eloff and other talented chefs.  There are 5 volumes already released and two more due out soon!  More info on their Facebook page here:    You can order Vol. 1 or the entire set from here or at Amazon.com.  These cookbooks are filled with easy, gluten-free, tasty low-carb creations by a group of very talented cooks. GET YOURS TODAY!

INGREDIENTS:

1 medium large head cauliflower

6 oz. cream cheese, softened

4 oz. smoked Gouda cheese, grated

¼ tsp. coarse black pepper

Dash salt

Optional:  chopped chives or green onion to top

DIRECTIONS:

Cut up cauliflower into manageable pieces and boil or steam until tender.  Drain off any water and mash the chunks up slightly with a fork (do not puree, however).   Stir in softened cream cheese until it is melted and blended well.  Grease glass casserole dish and spoon half the cauliflower mixture in.  Sprinkle with half the grated smoked Gouda.  Spoon remaining cauliflower into dish and top with rest of Gouda cheese.   Sprinkle with just a dash of salt, as the cheese has a lot of sodium.  If you are sodium sensitive, I wouldn’t add ANY salt.   Sometimes I add some chopped chives or green onion to the top, but this is not in the nutritional info below.  Bake at 350º for 20-30 minutes or until bubbly.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Serves 6, each serving contains:  (you may get up to 8 servings and that will lower the net carbs even more)

190.3 calories

15.22 g  fat

6.17 g  carbs

2.4 g fiber

3.77 g  NET CARBS

8.77 g  protein

312 mg  sodium

12 comments on “Smoked Gouda Cauliflower

    • Your call, there, Wendy, really. I personally don’t care for frozen cauliflower. I find it soggy with water when defrosted. Seems like no matter how I cook with it, that moisture then bleeds into the casseroles made with it. If your experience with it is more positive, and you like the flavor, then yes, by all means, use it. ;) Fresh is definitely better, though. I cannot tell a lie. :)

  1. I have a similar dish, to which I add diced cooked chicken breast and green olives. Perhaps rosemary, if i use asiago. I don’t bother mashing the cauli but leave it in small trees. Then it becomes a main dish that fulfills my lingering mac-and-cheese cravings…

    • Welcome, Jo! My, I’ll bet asiago and rosemary would be a GREAT variation on this! I have added chicken and shrimp to mine before, and that is QUITE good! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your cauli dish with my readers. I’ll have to try your asiago version soon! :)

  2. I am not a fan of cauliflower, except roasted, and I have never been “fooled” by other mashed cauliflower recipes masquerading as mashed potatoes, but this recipe is pretty incredible. I make it for my husband and I when we grill steaks and try to work a pot roast in soon after so I can have the leftovers instead of the mashed potatoes the carb heads who live here get! I found some Boar’s Head brand Chipotle Gouda in the store so this weekend, that is what I will use! Yum! Thanks again for another great recipe!

    • OMG Chipotle Gouda? I’ve never seen it before, Andrea. I’ll have to seek that out! But I bet it would be amazing in this! I’m glad this dish widens your horizons on the cauliflower front! Always a pleasure to share with others. :)

Leave a Comment

