Eggplant al Pesto

Eggplant al Pesto

Eggplant al Pesto

We had pork chops for dinner tonight and I wanted something nice to have with them besides the fresh steamed broccoli I was planning.  I grabbed a Japanese eggplant in the refrigerator.  Sitting right beside it was my jar of freshly made pesto sauce and thawed spaghetti sauce for tomorrow night.  Voila!  This delightful dish emerged in my head!  I wasn’t sure how the pesto would be and whether I would like it, because fresh basil often doesn’t agree with my stomach.  But I’m here to tell you this was one of the very best eggplant dishes I’ve done in a LONG time!  I used just a hint of pesto sauce.  This is one of those dishes that isn’t so pretty, but it makes up for this weakness in flavor!  DELICIOUS, this one!

This recipe is suitable for Induction and it freezes well, too!  It is a fairly small side dish recipe, so double for a large family.  This serves 4 as a veggie side. With the addition of a layer of pre-browned ground beef or ground Italian Sausage, this would make a delightful entree for 2 people.

NOTE:  If you saute your eggplant, the oil will bleed out onto the bottom of the casserole dish.  As an alternative, you can lightly grease a baking sheet with less oil than indicated, and pre-bake the eggplant before assembling this layered dish, rather than sauteing.  Your call there

More delicious low-carb side-dish recipes like this one can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:  

8 oz. eggplant, peeled, sliced ¼” thick and then cut into smaller pieces about 1″ in size

3 T. olive oil  [see note in red above]

1 T. my pesto sauce

½ c. low carb spaghetti sauce

1 T. Parmesan cheese, grated

1/3 c. mozzarella cheese, grated

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  If sauteing eggplant, heat oil in non-stick skillet and saute the eggplant, turning often with a spoon, until it is completely translucent (will be nearly done at this point).  If pre-baking your eggplant, lightly oil a pan and bake/broil the slices on a baking sheet at 350º about 10-20 minutes.  When nearly done, place the eggplant in a small casserole-type baking dish (no need to grease the baking dish).  Dot the eggplant evenly with the spaghetti sauce first.  Then dot evenly with the pesto sauce.  Sprinkle on the Parmesan and finally spread the mozzarella evenly on top.  Pop into a 350º oven for about 30 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   As a vegetable dish, this serves 4 (will only serve 2 as an entree with meat added).   Each serving, without meat, contains:

214.5 calories

18.5 g  fat

6.3 g  carbs, 2.63 g  fiber, 3.67 g NET CARBS

7.08 g protein

71 mg sodium

141 mg potassium

16 comments on “Eggplant al Pesto

  1. Wow, tried this recipe this week and was IN LOVE! This might be a new staple at my house! I think I will try doubling it and adding some sausage. Thank you!

    • Oh, I’m just delighted you guys liked this, Melissa! Always a pleasure to share! It truly is one of my better eggplant dishes. And I have also tried sausage in it and love that as well.

  2. With the wonderful Japanese eggplants popping out all over the plant, I’m anxious to give this a try with the Italian sausage. Thanks, Sandy

    • I think you’ll like it! I picked up some Japanese eggplant yesterday and am making another batch this week. So good!

  3. Mmm I’m gonna make this today to go with my steak for a very late lunch. (had a bit of a lay in… hehe)

    Looks good except I’m using American eggplant b/c we don’t get Japanese ep here.

    • I’m sure the ground beef will be good in it. I had my leftovers with some crumbled, cooked Italian sausage the next day for lunch and it was GREAT!

    • Jennifer, I had the leftovers with a patty of my Italian sausage cooked & crumbled on top for lunch and it was delish that way, too!

Leave a Comment

