Grilled Cheese Sandwich

click to enlarge

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

This sandwich everyone already knows how to make!  So why in the heck would I be posting a “recipe” for a grilled cheese sandwich!!!?  Well…………sadly, most low-carb breads made with alternate flours simply do not toast well.  They just won’t get (or stay) toasty!!!  :(

This bread recipe I’ve developed is particularly suited for grilling as it toasts up better  than any other low-carb bread I’ve tried in 5 years of low-carbing and bread experimenting. Not sure which ingredient is facilitating that quality, likely the oat fiber, but am VERY glad whatever, it seems to work!  The fruits of your labor here are an amazingly toasty grilled cheese sandwich reminiscent of the ones you grew up on.  Don’t go off on me on my nutritional numbers.  I have rechecked them twice since original posting and they ARE correct.  We just have to accept it folks, grilled cheese sandwiches are high in calories!!  I mean it IS cheese and butter and bread.  Pray tell, how could it NOT be high in calories?  Go do the math on MFP or Fitday and you’ll see my numbers are right here.  :)

You can bake this in any microwaveable square container.  I have a plastic one, but usually use my square glass dish.  I have not tried baking this bread in a conventional oven, but suspect it would need 350º for around 10-15 minutes or so.  One recipe can be sliced laterally into two thinner slices after cooling and that is what is shown to create 1 sandwich in the pic above. This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins and Keto diets.  It is not suitable for Primal-Paleo lifestyles.

There are many more fantastic low-carb bread recipes in Jennifer Eloff and friend’s best-selling cookbook series LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  Preview some of them at their Facebook page:  Low Carbing Among Friends.  You can order you own copies of the 5-volume set or individual volumes at Amazon or here.

DISCLAIMER:  I do not receive remuneration for this promotion or the inclusion of any of my recipes therein.  I do so simply because every low-carb cook is going to want these wonderful recipes in their kitchen library.  I haven’t made a recipe from them yet I didn’t like!

INGREDIENTS:

¼ c. + 1T. flax meal, preferably golden flax meal

1 T. butter + 1T more for grilling final sandwich

2 T. sour cream

1 egg, beaten

½ tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. oat fiber (omit for gluten-free)

Pinch salt

1 slice American Deluxe cheese

DIRECTIONS:   Melt 1 T. of the butter in microwave in a small mixing bowl.  Add beaten egg and sour cream. Add all dry ingredients and stir well.  Dip into a 5″ square microwaveable container and microwave on HI for 70 seconds or until dry to touch in center. Cool a minute and tip out onto cutting board.  Laterally slice as evenly as possible with a long knife.  Melt a little butter on non-stick griddle and baste one side of each slice of bread.  Place one slice on griddle, buttered side down.  Add 1 slice of your preferred cheese (I use American or Swiss) and top with second slice of bread, buttered side up.  Brown well on both sides.  The browner it is the crisper it will get.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 1 sandwich which contains:

617 calories

56.1 g  fat

17.7 g  carbs, 13.2 g  fiber, 4.5 g NET CARBS

19 g  protein

756 mg sodium

 

51 comments on “Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. I love you Peggy, I made this today and the bread toasted/grilled/browned up WONDERFULLY, you are genius, I made the bread as a grilled cheese sandwich, I have been low carb for 3 years and this by far is the best bread I have ever tasted that browns up and still has a mild flavor, I can’t wait to make it again with ham and cheese melted :)

    • That’s GREAT, Sarah! I was pretty impressed with this one when I made it. I’ve only done it maybe 4 times since, as I don’t eat grilled cheese sandwiches that often, but it cooks up consistently for me. I actually haven’t used it for other sammies yet. I tend to use my sheet bread (for 12 slices) more often for other uses. But this one sure does toast nicely. So glad you like it Sarah.

    • I use a 5″ square glass dish I bought to make nini cakes in. Before that, I was using a plastic sandwich holder designed to package sandwiches for kids lunchboxes, before I found out microwaving in plastic isn’t good for you.

Leave a Comment

