Individual Lime Cake

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I don’t like having cake leftover that tempts me to eat it too often, so I continue to come up with 1-2 serving individual cake recipes.  When it’s gone, it’s gone. That works best for me.   This lime cake is wonderful frosted with my lime frosting: http://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/lime-frosting/  When doing citrus desserts, rather than extacts, I like to use Boyajian Citrus Oils. They pack a stronger flavor punch and the tiny bottles last forever it seems.  I have seen this at high end grocery stores, but ordered my set of lemon-lime-orange direct from Boyajian on-line some years ago.  I absolutely LOVE the stuff for baking!  This is the set of Boyajian oils I use: http://www.boyajianinc.com/boxCitrus.html   This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung of OWL due to the oat fiber.

Many more delicious low-carb dessert recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ latest cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you oodles of delicious recipes you are going to want in your collection.  Even a few of my recipes are there! Order your set of cookbooks (also available individually) TODAY from Amazon or here:  http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER:  I do not get paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:  

1 T. melted butter, unsalted

2 eggs, beaten

Few drops of Boyajian lime oil (or 1/4 tsp. lime extract, or 1T. lime juice)

1 tsp. grated lime zest

2 T. golden flax meal

2 T. almond flour

2 tsp. oat fiber (omit if gluten free)

6 drops liquid Splenda

2 pkts. stevia sweetener

½ tsp. baking powder

DIRECTIONS:   In a 4″ ramekin, cereal bowl, or individual cake pan, melt the butter in a microwave for 30 seconds.  I used a latex 5″ mini cake pan.

Beat in the eggs, liquid Splenda and lemon oil.   Add lime zest and stir again.  Now add dry ingredients and stir until batter is smooth.  Microwave on HI for about 1 minute 10 seconds or until done in the center.  Tip out onto plate, cool before frosting.  Garnish with a bit of grated lime zest and serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 1 cake (actually 2 servings).  The entire cake contains: (does not include any frosting)

337 calories

29.5 g fat

14.1 g  carbs, 9.5 g  fiber, 4.6 g  NET CARBS (2.3 g if you only eat half!)

12 g  protein

571 mg sodium

24% RDA Vitamin A, 28% B12, 31% calcium, 26% copper, 37% iron, 20% magnesium, 21& manganese, 41% phosphorous, 24% riboflavin, 35% selenium, 25% thiamin, 15% zinc, 191 mg potassium

13 comments on “Individual Lime Cake

    • The stats are for the cake alone, Jenny. But 2 Tbsp. of the frosting only adds 1.2 carbs. This cake really serves 2 people IMO, so 2.3 (½ the cake) + 1.2 (2T. frosting) = 3.5 NC for half the cake and 2 T. frosting. Not bad really.

  1. Thanks so much for your recipes. Picked you up on about.com.

    Noticed you didn’t post carb/calorie info or maybe I didn’t see it.

    • Welcome, Margaret! Hope you enjoy browsing my 400 or so recipes. A little of this and a little of that for everyone’s taste, I think. Stats are at the bottom of the recipe. :)

  2. I totally agree with you about the serving sizes! If you don’t have the special oils would extracts work as well? What about the LorAnn oils? Are they similar?

    • Well I think regular old trusty McCormick extracts will work just fine, Lisa. The only LorAnn oils I’ve ordered tasted so awful, I tossed them all out, to be quite honest. I was very disappointed in the money I wasted on those, frankly. Maybe I just bought all the wrong ones. :)

  3. On this WOE, everything is soo good, and portion control is what gets me in trouble. So not only is this size wonderful but it looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Comment

