Ethiopian Beef

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

This dish was inspired by a recipe  I saw on carb-lite.au.com: Ethiopian Beef and Peppers.   I’ve added some dramatic spices along with adding tomato and fruit to the dish.  I think these changes enhance the dish quite a bit.  I don’t know if one could still call the dish authentic Ethiopian cuisine, but I know they have access to all the spices I have included.  This dish is not acceptable until the fruit rung of OWL.  This is great served with a green vegetable or on top of riced, steamed cauliflower. My husband goes gaga over the wonderful spice flavors in this dish.  I confess I eat seconds myself on this! :)  Although I make this with beef most often, it would be very good made with lamb.  I suspect it would be good done with all sorts of wild game as well.    Get a load of the nutritional stats for this dish!  An amazingly healthy entree.

INGREDIENTS:

2 lb. lean beef, lamb or any wild game meat (I used beef sirloin, trimmed)

1/4 c. olive oil

4 oz. sliced yellow onion

1 medium red bell pepper (green is OK to use), cut into chunks

Dash coarse black pepper

1/4 tsp. salt

5 prunes (dried plums), cut into 3-4 pieces each

3 Roma tomatoes, cut into large chunks

1/3 c. red wine

4 jalapenos, seeded

4 cloves garlic

2 tsp. fresh ginger root, peeled

Pinch whole nutmeg, grated

Pinch turmeric

1/2 tsp. paprika

Pinch cumin, ground

Pinch coriander, ground

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Pinch cloves, ground

Pinch cardamom, ground

DIRECTIONS:   Trim any large chunks of fat off the meat and freeze for rendering out fat for your next pot of soup or whatever else you like.  Cut meat into 1½-2″ pieces.  In large skillet (I used 15″) heat olive oil and brown sirloin over HI heat on one side.  Turn each piece and brown the other side.  Add sliced onion and bell pepper, salt and pepper.    Lower heat to medium and add prunes, tomatoes and wine.  In food processor,  process until smooth all remaining ingredients.  Add to skillet and stir well.  Add a little water if the meat and veggies aren’t pretty much covered with liquid.  Cover with lid and simmer for about 45 minutes.  Meat should be pretty tender by now, but simmer longer for game, which tends to be tougher meat.  Uncover and simmer for about 15 more minutes to thicken sauce up a bit.  Most of the sauce will evaporate down to what you see in the picture.  If not and meat is done, you will likely want to thicken the sauce a bit with your favorite low-carb thickener.  I don’t thicken mine at all.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 6 servings, each contains:

335 calories

12.2 g  fat

9.62 g  carbs, 1.85 g fat, 7.77 NET CARBS

34.2 g protein

144 mg sodium

748 mg potassium

76% RDA Vitamin B6, 75% B12, 45% C, 15% E, 23% copper, 37% iron, 86% niacin, 49% phosphorous, 19% riboflavin, 71% selenium, 81% zinc

5 comments on “Ethiopian Beef

    • LOL, Goni. I’ve learned to not go to the grocery store “on empty” either? LOL If I’m gonna have a weak moment, it’s at the grocery store when I’m hungry. :)

Leave a Comment

