Cream Cheese Tea Cakes

Click to enlarge (with my lime frosting + food coloring)

Click to enlarge (with my lime frosting + food coloring)

Texture Closeup

This recipe evolved from an accident in preparing a recipe of CarolynF (on Low Carb Friends) for cream cheese sugar cookies.  I changed up the flours quite a bit, doubled the cream cheese and molded them into little Christmas Tree- shaped tea cakes.  They were WONDERFUL!  They reminded me of my mother’s traditional cream cheese brownies (the blond part) in taste and texture.  I can see a possible cream cheese brownie evolving with some further experimentation on this.  This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung of OWL.   Unfrosted, these would be great served warm with some jam, marmalade or preserves and a nice cup of tea.

INGREDIENTS: 

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 large egg

1½ tsp. vanilla extract

¼ tsp. salt

1½ c. Carbquick bake mix

¼ c. Jennifer Eloff’s Splendid Low Carb Bake Mix:  http://low-carb-news.blogspot.com/2008/08/bake-mix-substitutions-to-customize-to.html

3 T. coconut flour

2 T. oat fiber (not oat flour or oat bran)

1 c. granular Splenda (or equivalent sweetener)

2 T. erythritol

Frosting, preserves or jam of your choice (optional)

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  In large mixing bowl, cream together the softened cream cheese, butter, Splenda, erythritol and egg until smooth.  Add salt and vanilla.  Add Carbquick, Jen’s low-carb mix, coconut flour and oat fiber and stir into a smooth dough-like batter.  Using either mini-muffin pans or silicone molds, spoon mixture into molds, tamping down level with a small spoon or your finger.  I used two Wilton silicone molds, slightly overfilled and then raked the straight side of a knife over the top to smooth them even with the pan surface.  These rise only slightly above the original dough level:  (this pan is 5/8″ deep)Set silicone pans on a baking sheet and bake in preheated 350º oven for about 18 minutes or until they are beginning to lightly brown.  Allow to cool slightly and “set up” before pushing them gently up and out of the silicone pans.  If using mini muffin tins, fill about 3/4 full.  These are so buttery the pans will not need greasing.  They should tip out just fine with the assistance of the tip of a knife.   Serve warm with marmalade or jams or cool with your favorite frosting.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 36 tea cakes, each contains:  (does not include frosting or toppings)

84 calories

8.54 g  fat

3.65 g  carbs, 2.83 g  fiber, .82 g  NET CARBS

2.0 g  protein

65.8 mg sodium

10% RDA Vitamin A, 11 mg potassium

13 comments on “Cream Cheese Tea Cakes

    • Hi Jen. I’m down in San Antonio trying to get a Home Health Medicine Delivery Service set up for Mom. But I’m fine and hope to be back home around Tuesday, if there are no more unexpected tasks put on my plate before then. Thanks for “keeping tabs on me” Jen. Am loving the recipes you’ve been posting the last two weeks. Can’t wait to get home and try some of them.

    • Yay, I’m so happy you are fine! Thanks, Peggy. I just made your pizza crust! I used my GF bake mix and adapted the recipe slightly. I will definitely give you credit. It was AWESOME! I want to put it in the new cookbook. Ian said, “Hmm, this is nice,” as he ate one slice. He finished it and immediately took another slice! That’s a good test. Merry Christmas to you and yours. Hugs, Jen

  1. This sounds divine and very festive!

    I hope you will experiement with a cream cheese brownie too at one point. I do so miss them!

    • Hi Lisa! You know, I really should cut out the baking for awhile, but it’s so hard to do that around the holidays. But I do believe I’ll try this as a choco-vanilla brownie one day.

  2. Peggy, are these similar to old fashioned tea cakes?
    You mention mini muffin pans. Would I fill them the same way you did the “trees”?

    Sorry, I gagged when I read the frosting you used was lime. UGH!!! I’ve never been able to stand artificial lime flavorings (koolaid, jello, candies, etc.) Sorry to me it is just nasty. Same with artificial banana. To each his/her own. We all have different taste buds, that’s for sure! Sorry I guess some things I should keep to myself.

    • Billie, they are in taste and texture just like the old-fashioned blond/chocolate cream cheese brownies (the blond part, that is). Kind of a cross between a cookie and a cake IMO. I found them too soft right out of the oven, but just right when cooled a bit.

      Using min-muffin pans that are about 1″ deep, I would just fill about 3/4 full so they will cook properly.

      I am funny about extracts, too. Won’t use most of them. BTW, my lime frosting uses real lime juice and zest. But I’ll share with you that when I use extracts, Boyajian Citrus Oils (available from their website and high-end groceries) are exuded oil from the fruit. They taste just like real zest/oil and are so intense it only takes a few drops for a recipe. Best $10 I ever spent on baking. Keeps well and flavor doesn’t seem to diminish in the pantry. I’m still using the mini-set I bought over 10 years ago in Houston! They’re the only flavorings I much use besides my Coconutti and Watkins vanilla.

Leave a Comment

