Blackberry Flax Muffins

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Blackberries are plentiful in the local stores lately and coming down in price where I am, so I bought a carton yesterday and made these delightful treats today.  They were very good and are a pleasant change from the strawberry and blueberry muffins I usually make. These could also be made with raspberries or even drained crushed pineapple or mashed banana, if you’re to the “other fruits” rung yet. The recipe, as written, is not acceptable until the nuts and berries rung of the OWL ladder.  This batter can be baked as a loaf in a greased loaf pan.  A loaf will take about 40 minutes to cook properly done.  FYI, one of my readers said these froze well and tasted great after freezing.

INGREDIENTS:

5 T. unsalted butter, melted

5 large eggs, beaten

6 T. cream

20 drops liquid Splenda (10 drops if you use the tiny bottle that is more concentrated)

4-5 pkts. stevia

1 T. granular erythritol (optional, to sprinkle on tops of muffins)

1 c. blackberries, coarsely cut up

½ c. almond flour

1 c. flax meal (I use a mixture of dark and golden)

½ tsp. cinnamon

2 T. oat fiber

2½ tsp. baking powder

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Melt butter in large bowl.  Beat in the 5 eggs.  Add cream and liquid Splenda.  Stir well.  Measure and add in all the dry ingredients and stir to blend.  Fold berries gently into batter but do not over work them or they will turn your batter dark.  Line with paper or grease 12 muffin cups.  Using ¼ c. measuring cup as a scooper, scoop ¼ c. batter into each cup.  Use up any remaining batter evenly in the 12 muffins.  Sprinkle the tops with the tablespoon of granular erythritol if using.  Pop into preheated 350º oven and bake for 20 minutes or until firm to the touch in the centers.  These should freeze well.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 12 muffins, each contains:

183 calories

16 g  fat

6.74 g  carbs, 4.87 g fiber, 1.87 g  NET CARBS

5.73 g  protein

133 mg potassium

140 mg sodium

14% RDA Vitamin A, 12% B12, 10% calcium, 18% copper, 17% iron, 14% magnesium, 19% manganese, 18.5% phosphorous, 11% riboflavin, 14% selenium, 16% thiamin, 9% zinc

14 comments on “Blackberry Flax Muffins

    • Why thank you Carolyn. Yes, I find anything with flax VERY filling. Chic and glucomannan in a recipe also have that effect on me. :) It’s kind of like having a diet secret to portion control up my sleeve in the kitchen. ;)

    • I’m confused by your wording, since this recipe doesn’t call for any oat flour. If you meant the reverse, I wouldn’t sub oat flour into this for the oat fiber called for here, myself. Two reasons: using oat fiber raises the deductible fiber number (a good thing as that pulls the per serving net carbs down); oat fiber greatly enhances overall texture of end product (the main reason I add it to stuff). The two ingredients are not really interchangeable in recipes and doing so might lead to undesirable results. You’d be better off just omitting the oat fiber, but as with all substitutions, that will require recalculating nutritional info.

    • I’m sorry, this is an odd question, and probably not the best place to ask it, since the recipe indeed does not call for oat flour. I was just looking for additional ways to use the oat fiber, that I have in my cupboard, and I was hoping that I could use it in recipes calling for oat flour.

      • I would recommend introducing very small amounts to all your baked goods. If not overdone, a little will do wonders for texture. Using too much will dry out your baked good terribly. I start experimenting by adding 1 tsp. to a single muffin or individual serving recipe. Try maybe 1 T. to a pancake/waffle recipe. I add about 1-2 T. to a 6-muffin batch of batter, or a 2-dozen cookie recipe or small loaf cake. I add about 3-4 T. to a large Bundt or 9×13 cake. For recipes you’re familiar with from prior baking experience with them, you’ll see a noticeable improvement in texture. The trick is to start out with a VERY small amount on first trial with that recipe, and increase in small increments (if appropriate) each time you bake that particular recipe with it. More may not be necessary, as a little goes a log way. If it seems a little dry in your mouth, you want to use LESS in that recipe. So far, I have never EVER used over 1/4 cup in any recipes. But it’s all trial and error really. Hope the above guidelines I’ve gives you a starting point for your experimenting with oat fiber. I’m still learning myself about the wonders of this truly amazing enhancer. :) Hope this helps.

    • Welcome to the site, RsMacaalay. Hope you like those. Want to tell you that I have really enjoyed reading your recipes, particularly the foreign entrees. I have printed out a number of them to try in future. Keep ‘em coming! :)

  1. Peggy, could you please comment on the Stevia NuNaturals powdered extract equivalents to a packet of Stevia? I prefer the taste of the NuNatruals extract but it is REALLY concentrated. Thank you for posting another brilliant recipe! I can’t wait to try it :) I eat your peek-a-boo eggs with different variations for the meat almost every day for breakkers!

    • Glad you like those Peek-a-Boo eggs, Timberhaazy! I’ve not used NuNaturals Stevia myself, so I’m no help there. I’d recommend going to the NuNaturals website and see if they have a conversion chart or a “contact us” link on their home page and ask that question direct. I read somewhere on the net recently it’s 200-300 times as sweet as real sugar. I may try it one day. Often sweetener packages or bottles themselves will tell you how to use it or convert other sweeteners to an equivalent of their product. Sorry I can’t be of more help on your question.

    • Kathleen, you could, but oat bran is much higher in carbs plus you don’t get the subtractable fiber benefit you get with oat fiber. I’d just leave it out for now and increase the flax by 2T. until you can maybe order the oat fiber sometime from Netrition.com. I order the large 4# bag from Honeyvillegrains, but I store it in my freezer and it has taken me over a year to use it nearly all up. I have to order some again soon. :) You can order smaller 1# bags from Netrition. I’ve never EVER seen oat fiber for sale in a brick-and-mortar store before, not even health food stores. It’s a real flavor and texture enhancer for baked goods in very small amounts, so I add a little to nearly all my baked goods now. It gives a “flour” taste to baked goods that have no flour in them. Well worth the investment it in my opinion. :)

Leave a Comment

