Peggy’s Chicken “Fried” Steak

Peggy's Chicken "Fried" Steak

Peggy’s Chicken “Fried” Steak

I live in Texas and man, I have been missing classic Texas chicken-fried steak with cream gravy!!  Well no more yearning for a long-lost love!  I just created a low-carb CFS that’s pretty dang close to the real deal!  I’ve had such good luck with my mayo-pork rind coating for “fries”, numerous veggies, fish filets and chicken, I thought today “Why not give it a whirl for chicken fried steak”? Well, IT WORKED!

My first thought on how to go about this was that the beef would exude too much moisture during baking, if I just coated it raw, even if I patted it very dry with paper towels.  Didn’t want the pork-rink coating to get “soggy”, so I decided to sear the meat first to seal in those juices before I began the coating process.  That turned out to be a VERY good decision!!  This came out FANTASTIC!  And the gravy was SUPER, even without the usual browning of flour.  The natural caramelized meat juices deglazed from the skillet made a DELICIOUS cream gravy without one bit of flour!

I served this alongside a saute of radishes and onion and steamed broccoli. I got distracted cooking the radishes and almost browned my meat TOO much, at least browner than I usually do chicken fried steak.  But it was STILL GREAT!  Timing can be merciless in the kitchen.  :)

You can use round steak for this dish if you prefer, but I have always preferred chuck or sirloin for my CFS.  Much better taste in my opinion.  I’m just not very fond of round steak.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and Primal-Paleo if you eat pork rinds.

You can have many more delightfully tasty dinner menu ideas at your fingertips with your very own set of LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS, the best selling cookbooks by Jennifer Eloff, the famous George Stella and several other incredibly talented low-carb cooks.  Click the link above to see a preview of what awaits you in these wonderful cookbooks. You can order the 5-volume set, or individual volumes, regular binding or coil binding at Amazon or here.

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb. trimmed chuck, round or sirloin, sliced ½” thick, pounded to tenderize

1/3 c. homemade mayonnaise (if commercial mayo, may require more)

1 T. coconut oil (or oil of your choice)

2 oz. pork rinds, crushed fine

½ tsp. seasoning of your choice, I use my Seafood Spice Blend

1 c. water

½ c. heavy cream

1/8 tsp. black pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Crush pork rinds fine and stir in spice seasoning.  Place into shallow bowl with a spoon for applying and set aside while you prepare the meat.  Trim meat of all visible fat and gristle along the edges.  If using chuck or sirloin that is very thick, slice it laterally if need be to to create pieces about ½ thick.  Preheat oven to 425º. Cut meat into 4 portions and pound the pieces with a meat cleaver or mallet to tenderize it a bit.  Heat oil in skillet and sear meat on both sides until lightly browned, sprinkling lightly with black pepper as it sears.  You don’t want to cook the meat DONE here, just sear it on the surface.   Remove from heat.

Pour mayo into a saucer and using a brush, holding the HOT meat on one tip with tongs or a fork (I use tiny ice bucket tongs), coat both sides of each piece of meat well with mayo.  Then move over to the bowl of crushed pork rinds and using a spoon, spoon the rinds over both sides of the meat.  You’ll get decent coverage without any one piece getting excess.  I have found that if you just dip the meat into the rinds, it “grabs” more coating than is necessary, resulting in not having enough rinds to finish the job at hand and you will then have to crush more (been there; done that) and increase calories. :)  Place the coated meat onto a non-stick baking sheet (do not line with silicone or parchment or it won’t brown properly on the bottom) and pop into preheated 425º oven.  Bake about 20 minutes or until browned to your liking.

As the meat is cooking, make your cream gravy.  Add 1 c. water to the skillet you seared the meat in and over low heat, over low heat, completely deglaze all the tasty brown bits off the bottom of the skillet by scraping with a spatula.    Add the cream and simmer over low heat to reduce and thicken.  This adds both color and flavor to your gravy.  Add a dash of black pepper and salt to taste.  If you prefer a thicker gravy, you can slightly thicken with your preferred thickener, like a light dusting of xanthan gum whisked in.

Serve with gravy dipped over meat.  This goes well with many of your favorite vegetable dishes.  I hope you enjoy this “national” staple of Texas!  LOL  When you note the nutritional stats below, you’ll say the moral of this story is EAT MORE CHICKEN FRIED STEAK!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes four 4-oz servings, each contains:

471.3 calories

30.8 g  fat

1.9 g  carbs, .03 g  fiber, 1.87 g  NET CARBS

45 g  protein

356 mg sodium

34 comments on “Peggy’s Chicken “Fried” Steak

  1. Hi Peggy. Thank you for your awesomeness.

    Do you have any recommendations for finding pork rinds? When I lived in south GA, I had no problem finding them. Here in PA, though, they seem scarce. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

  2. How do I get a print friendly version of these recipes? Do you have a cookbook that showcases the ones that you post?

    • I do not have a cookbook. Despite my friends’ urgings, I’ve not been interested in publishing one because of all the work involved. I want to ENJOY my retirement. That said, at the bottom of each recipe is a “print friendly” button. When the page loads, you can delete pics, delete the intro text (if you wish) and even change the print size up at the top. :) That’s the only option right now. Just a few of my recipes appear in Jennifer Eloff and friends LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS cookbooks. Mine appear in vols. 1, 2, 4, and 5. I was unable to accept Jennifer’s invitation to include recipes for Vol. 3 because I was out of town taking care of my Mother’s healthcare needs (she has dementia) at the crucial time for that volume’s publication deadlines.

      • Miss Peggy and All
        I open her wonderful recipes…. highlight just the text copy and insert in a new email to myself… and SEND.. works for me… easy too
        and I THANK YOU DEAR LADY FOR ALL YOU DO…you have helped me far more than words can ever say
        Blessing
        sheila in ga

        • That’ll always work, too. I never even think of mentioning the basic “if all else fails” print option. :) Thanks for sharing the additional option with readers, Sheila.

    • You can sub almond flour or dessicated coconut, but you won’t end up with classic Texas Chicken Fried Steak. You might like the taste of your results though. :)

      • Miss Peggy… I like to mix some pork rinds with some almond meal and flax to make a breading.. works great … when i get out the vita mix i crush up a bunch of pork rinds and keep them in the freezer they are always ready when i am…..i go ahead and mix up a qt jar of breading mix.. so it is handy also.. ……..
        have a super day

        • Hmmm. I may try it your way soon. I’ve just had no luck at all with flax in coating. It’s tendency to produce soft cakelike qualities in muffins may be the issue. But in a small enough amount it might work OK. Thanks, Sheila!

    • Paleo folks would have to use coconut cream. But those folks know that. That was my premise and comment when I created the Primal-Paleo category on my site. Those folks would have to sub in coconut milk or diluted coconut cream for cream and use ghee for butter in my recipes. My site is attempting to appeal to both audiences. If I don’t tag a recipe like this one Primal-Paleo (knowing minor tweaks may be necessary) those browsing only Paleo-Primal category will never see this delicious recipe. I hope you understand my rationale in tagging it this way. I consider those very minor tweaks those folks are well-adept at making.

    • Welcome, Anita! Hope you like this recipe. It’s always a pleasure to share, one “fereigner to another”, as my husband loves to call folks born outside the state. :)

    • Primal eaters can have cream. I am both paleo and primal. However I make it my own version since I am a low carber, clean eater and primal mainly as I can’t have potatoes at all (makes me gain weight bad). Most folks that eat paleo or primal modifiy the plan to fit their idea of eating this way. Hope I am making sense. :)

      • And those Paleo folks can use coconut milk for their gravy in this. As you say, those folks are quite adept at tweaking low-carb recipes to fit their eating plan, as I tweak theirs to suit mine. I love there are so many two-way streets in the world of recipes. :)

Leave a Comment

