Sausage Tarragon Cream on Toast

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

This dish evolved from my Eggs with Tarragon Cream recipe and the addition of some sausage.  It is Atkins Induction friendly and a tasty change of pace for breakfast when you just don’t feel like eggs.  This dish is also good as a lunch or evening meal served alongside a lovely green salad.

INGREDIENTS:

2 Revolution Rolls (also known as Oopsie Rolls:  http://www.genaw.com/lowcarb/improved_revolution_rolls.html

4 oz. pork breakfast sausage, browned (I make my own:  http://buttoni.wordpress.com/2011/08/07/peggys-breakfast-sausage/ )

1/3 c. green onion, chopped

1 Roma tomato, coarsely chopped

¼ tsp. dried tarragon (or ½-1 tsp. fresh tarragon)

Dash salt and black pepper

¼ c. heavy cream

1 c. water

DIRECTIONS:  Brown sausage in non-stick skillet over medium-high heat..  Add chopped green onion and chopped tomato and saute until onion is softening a bit and the tomato is just barely beginning to soften, but is not cooked to mush.  Lower heat to low.  Add seasonings, cream and water.  Simmer to thicken.  If not thick enough to suit your preference, sprinkle a tiny bit of your favorite thickener and stir until it has thickened up.  Toast the Revo Rolls and spoon the sausage cream over the toasted rolls and serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes two servings, each contains:

330 Calories

26.7 g  fat

4.3 g  carbs, .8 g  fiber, 3.5 g  NET CARBS

17.5 g  protein

328 mg potassium

522 mg sodium

15% RDA Vitamin B6, 32% B12, 10% C, 10% copper, 15% iron, 27% niacin, 19% phosphorous, 15% riboflavin, 18% thiamin, 18% zinc

6 comments on “Sausage Tarragon Cream on Toast

  1. I wanted to tell you I made this dish this morning, and I’m glad my husband wasn’t in the mood for ‘breakfast’ because this way I can eat the other half tomorrow. It was delicious!

    I’ve been following your blog off and on for years as I’ve attempted to eat more healthy and I want you to know your work coming up with these recipes and sharing them has inspired me. Eating should be a pleasure! So thank you, for helping me on my own journey to be more healthy.

    • Oh, Valerie, thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you liked that one. I’m a Southern girl and just have to have my sausage gravy on toast or biscuits from time to time. I love sharing my recipes and hope their simplicity will demonstrate to novice, young cooks that there is nothing to be afraid of learning how to cook good, simple dishes that can fit any meal plan and the busiest of lifestyles. Just takes a little thought and time and a pinch of creativity. I try to save other folks two out of three. I figure that’s a good deal for them; and most rewarding for me. I worked all my life and could hardly find the time to cook, my favorite hobby. Now I’m retired and finally have not only the time to do it, but the time to share all my recipes as well. Stick around! I post new ones all the time!

  2. I really like the look of that gravy! I used to make sausage gravy & biscuits quite often (my husband’s favorite) using all kinds of flour and whatnot….I’ve oftened wondered if cream would be an okay substitute and still result in a thick gravy. It looks like it!

    • The green onion and tomato really add something to this popular southern breakfast. I find the cream alone will thicken up, Carrie, but then I confess don’t like gravy too terribly thick, even my cream gravies. A little xanthan gum or konjac powder will thicken it up more if you like, but use just a teeny smidgeon if you do.

Leave a Comment

