Almond Butter Cheesecake

Click to enlarge

Almond Butter Cheesecake

This rich, creamy no-bake cheesecake goes together really fast!  It’s delightful with strawberries or fresh cherries if available.  I buy my large canister of Emerald Cocoa Almonds at Sam’s, but you may be fortunate enough to find them at your local grocery store.  I’ve seen them at my Walmart, too.  These nuts crushed up make a delightful bottom crust and top coating for this no-bake dessert. This cheesecake is not acceptable until the nuts rung of the Atkins OWL ladder.   If you have any, and you’re of a mind, a splash (1-2T.) of Amaretto or Kirschwasser (cherry brandy) would enhance this dessert greatly. :)

Use your preferred sweetener in this.  I highly recommend you add it slowly and taste.  Everybody’s taste for sweetness differs.  I use a mixture of stevia and erythritol, a sugar alcohol.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

INGREDIENTS:

½ c. (2 oz) Emerald brand roasted cocoa almonds

24 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 c. heavy (whipping) cream

Sweetener of your choice to equal 1½-2 c. sugar  (always add a little at a time & taste)

½ c. water

1 envelope Knox unflavored gelatin

1½ tsp. almond extract

2 T. almond butter

DIRECTIONS:  Process or crush cocoa almonds until evenly crumbly.  Spread all but 1 T. (for topping) onto the bottom of a pie plate as evenly as possible.  Place softened cream cheese into large mixing bowl. Place water in a small saucepan, sprinkle gelatin over the water and heat on medium heat until gelatin is completely dissolved.   Pour gelatin over softened cream cheese and whip with hand mixer until creamy.  Add in almond extract and almond butter and whip another couple seconds until well blended. In a separate bowl, whip whipping cream until thick.  Gently fold that whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture.   Now gently dip up the filling mixture and gently place atop the crumb bottom crust.  Try not to disturb the crumbs any more than is absolutely necessary.  Smooth the top of the cheesecake with a rubber spatula or spoon.  Sprinkle the reserved tablespoon of crushed cocoa almonds over the top and chill for 3-4 hours.  Cut into 8 pieces and serve with or without cherries or strawberries for garnish.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 8 servings, each contains:

412.6 calories

38.7 g  fat

6.0 g  carbs, .9 g  fiber, 5.1 g  NET CARBS

12.4 g  protein

296 mg sodium

 

 

12 comments on “Almond Butter Cheesecake

  1. I wonder if I could make a crust with ground almonds and melted butter and chilled? I might try it with peanut butter too – new to the LC recipe scene so will just have a play!! Some ingredients are very hard to source here in the British Isles 😁

  2. I think in the nutrition info, you say carbs and subtract fat. You probably meant to say fiber. This recipe looks delicious and very easy to make. I wonder if there is a vegetarian option to the gelatin.

    • Thank you, Sheril. I’ve corrected that error now. That is what I meant to type. :) I’m not aware of many things that will firm up things like cheese cake besides gelatin. You could try using glucomannan powder. It will get thick/firm enough with gluc, but it is VERY tricky to use and I really have no idea how much for a cheesecake. I usually use 1 tsp. per 1 cup liquid or creamy volume. But I’m not sure how much volume of filling this has. Measure it up and then add the gluc powder and whisk it in, 1 tsp. per cup of volume. If after chilling this one gets too thick, you’lll want to back off on the next cheesecake. Low carb “baking” is a science experiment really. :)

  3. for Maria Taranto….Emerald Brand sells almonds that are cocoa flavored. They also have wonderful cinnamon flavored ones too.

  4. Can you tell me what cocoa almonds are………..or is that just the brand of almonds. Everytime I look at one of your gorgeous recipes, I go running out to buy a new ingredient and I’ve only made two of your cakes so far.

    • The brand is Emerald and they are roasted almonds covered in cocoa. I can buy them at Walmart and I’ve seen them in the nuts aisle at drugstores before. There are recipes to make them from scratch, but I just don’t bother.

  5. This looks yummy. I’m still at first phase, but have been thinking about making a cheesecake that is more savory than sweet. I find I just don’t need things as sweet as I once did!

    • Then you’ll like this one, as it’s not terribly sweet. I, too, am finding sweets just too sweet lately. :) You could even lower the amount of sweetener and taste the batter as you make it to get the sweetness level just right for your preferences.

Leave a Comment

