Nectarine-Apricot Jam

Click to enlarge

Nectarine-Apricot Jam

My mother always made peach-apricot preserves when I was growing up.  Anything with apricots was a big hit with her!  This lovely little low-carb version for morning biscuits or toast took a grand total of <5 minutes to throw together!  My mother cooked hers with pectin added, but for this version, all you need (besides the 3 ingredients) is a food processor/blender, and an index finger to push the ON button! Voilà, it’s ready!  Be sure you are buying “no sugar added” dried apricots.  I buy mine at Sam’s Club.

My mother would be amazed at how much easier it is to make this way.  My, how the food processor has changes our lives nowadays.  I actually got the no-cook idea from several Paleo websites I have visited lately, who were using this method with blueberries and blackberries.  They, however, used chia seeds as the thickening agent, which I find visually off-putting.  So I decided to see if I could use instead some glucomannan fiber as my thickening agent, which dissolves in liquid without being visible.  I can’t wait to try this with pears and pineapple one day!!

This was so delicious!  I didn’t even peel the nectarine, though the wee bits in it may bother you and you might prefer to do so with yours.  I want the nutrients in the peeling as well.  This recipe is not suitable until the higher carb fruits rung of the Atkins OWL carb ladder.  You could also substitute 2 small peaches for the nectarine in this, but I would definitely peel those as the fuzzy peeling there might be unpleasant texture-wise.  FYI glucomannan powder, a virtual pure fiber “carb wash”, I obtain on-line from Netrition.com.

UPDATE:  This worked well with both blackberries and raspberries, but being the tart fruit they can sometimes be, I had to add 1 pkt. stevia to those batches. I used 6 oz. berries in each case, but found I needed to add 1 T. water as well.  I suspect they have more natural pectin and could have used less glucomannan.   FYI anytime a glucomannan mixture is too thick, just rapidly whisk in water 1T. at a time.  That will fix that problem right up for you!   Using 6 oz. fruit in all cases, the blackberry version makes about a cup (16T.) for .46 net carbs per tablespoon. The raspberry version makes about 1/2 c. (8T.) for 1.16 net carbs per  tablespoon.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

6 oz. nectarine, seeded but not peeled

6 dried apricots

½ tsp. glucomannan powder (Konjac)

DIRECTIONS:  Cut all the flesh off a large nectarine right into the bowl of your food processor/blender.  Add the dried apricots and glucomannan fiber and pulse until the peeling of the nectarine (if left on) is very fine.  Using a rubber spatula, scrape jam into serving bowl or lidded jar for refrigerator storage of any leftovers.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes about 1 cup (16 T.).  Each tablespoon has:

13.2 calories

.05 g  fat

3.43 g  carbs, .28 g  fiber, 3.15 g  NET CARBS

.24 g  protein

5 mg sodium

5 comments on “Nectarine-Apricot Jam

    • Welcome, Carolynn! I suppose you could, but you’d have to heat the preserves in order to dissolve the gelatin. Gluc powder doesn’t require heating. But it should work for ya. Just don’t cook it too long, or the end results will taste like ordinary cooked peach preserves rather than raw peach preserves. The gelatin will set it up. Not sure how much to add. For this small a recipe, probably ½ an envelope I would guess.

    • I was surprised it didn’t need any sweetening, but the fruit alone was sweet enough. Hope you like this. I’ll be trying other fruits/berries this way, for sure (uncooked).

  1. And tis the season, I will have to grab these while I can in the store and make this. Great on a slice of your bread, I’ll bet. :)

Leave a Comment

