Baked Italian Eggplant Stacks

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

This tasty dish is incredibly easy to make!  It’s just a matter of layering the ingredients in a pan.  The really hard part is being patient while it bakes, because it smells so darn good while it’s cooking!  It takes some time for the eggplant to get tender, but it is well worth the wait.  It went very nicely with a seared pork chop and small Italian salad.  This dish is Atkins Induction friendly and Paleo-Primal friendly as well if you eat the occasional cheese.  Of course, you can add browned ground beef to this dish for a complete meal, but I already have a recipe on my site for that:  http://buttoni.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/eggplant-beef-lasagna/

This recipe appeared in Vol. 5 of Jennifer Eloff’s Low Carbing Among Friends cookbooks.  Be sure you add this series to your cookbook collection as it contains some of the tastiest recipes from some of the most talented low-carb chefs on the internet. You can order your set from Amazon or here:  http://amongfriends.us/.

DISCLAIMER:  I receive no remuneration f or this promotion or the inclusion of any of my recipes therein.  I do so simply because they contain GREAT and EASY recipes.

INGREDIENTS:

1 T. olive oil

16 oz. eggplant, sliced 3/16″ thick or less

3 large Roma tomatoes, sliced thin

1 c. grated mozzarella cheese

1/3 c. shredded Parmesan cheese

4 oz. ricotta cheese

1 tsp. oregano (or Italian Seasoning blend of your choice)

½ c. low-carb sugar-free spaghetti sauce (I use homemade, Belo vita or Lucini Italia Tomato Basil)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Grease well a ceramic quiche or pie plate with the olive oil.  Slice eggplant and tomatoes.  I found I had enough eggplant and tomatoes for 3 layers in my pan.  Begin with a layer of eggplant on the bottom of the quiche dish.  Top with a layer of tomato slices.  Next sprinkle with 1/3 of the oregano/Italian seasoning.  Next sprinkle 1/3 of the Mozzarella and 1/3 of the Parmesan evenly on top.  Dot surface with 1/3 of the ricotta.  Repeat the layers two more times.  Spoon the spaghetti sauce evenly over the top, spreading it with the back of your spoon.  Pop into preheated 350º oven for about 1 hour 15 minutes.  Check at 1 hour with a fork.  The tomatoes and eggplant will produce a great deal of moisture during the first half of cooking (this is to be expected), but all of it will evaporate by the time the eggplant is tender.  If the fork goes into the eggplant easily, the dish is done.  If not, cook it another 15-20 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 6 servings, each contains:

157.2 calories

10.2 g  fat

7.65 g  carbs,  2.78 g  fiber, 4.87 g  NET CARBS

9.8 g  protein

274 mg sodium

254 mg potassium

10% RDA Vitamin A, 21% B12, 10% C, 20% calcium, 11% manganese, 26% phosphorous, 12% riboflavin, 13% selenium, 14% zinc

8 comments on “Baked Italian Eggplant Stacks

    • Welcome, Darren! You’ll find LOTS of Keto-friendly entrees and veggie dishes on my site. The Keto diet and Atkins are very similar. Not all my recipes are Keto friendly, so you need to note the ingredients carefully. Atkins, in the later phases, allows a little more than Keto if tolerated well by the person. Hope you’ll explore further! I have nearly 600 recipes here now, so there’s likely something to please just about any palate. :)

    • Of course, I prefer the traditional version where the eggplant is dredged, precooked and THEN baked off. But I was looking for lower carbs and a more streamlined preparation on this dish. :) Italians do such wonderful things with just a few simple ingredients, don’t they?

  1. Yours is deffinitely healthier and it looks yummy too. I like the idea of the fresh roma tomatoe slices and the water just evaporating as it saves some steps.
    Thanks

    • Not really healthier, just a bit easier, and less salty to me. I’m one of those cooks who seeks out the EASIEST route to the same end. :) I’m such a “short-cut” cook. LOL

  2. I make this pretty much the same way except that after I slice and salt the rounds , I weight them overnight and drain the water from them, then I dip them in egg and either fry them in olive oil, which is my favorite traditional way or I bake them on large cookie sheet coated with olive oil on 375 for about 30 mins. It gives them a more traditional flavor and texture in the finished product.
    Thanks again for all the yummy recipes : )

    • Welcome Shirley. Your method is how I do traditional Eggplant Parmigiana as well. But for this dish, I wasn’t shooting for “classic” Parmigiana……just a quick, easy use of eggplant……concertedly bypassing the traditional method I know well. All the water my unsalted eggplant and fresh tomatoes generated was evaporated during the cooking, as you can see in the pic. I often avoid the salting step used with eggplant as I am so sodium sensitive, I find the salty “residue” too much for me in the final dish.

Leave a Comment

