Lemon-Parsley-Garlic Butter

0013

Shown on Baked Tilapia with Shrimp.

This was my Dad’s favorite compound butter for charcoal-grilled chicken or seafood when I was growing up.  He even grilled fresh oysters with this buter sauce occasionally. VERY good stuff!  We found it a much lighter flavor than so many barbecue sauces.  And the marriage of this butter with smoke……just heavenly in taste to me. Just baste your chicken, shrimp, or fish several times during the grilling process.  If using with an indoor broiled approach, I would wait and add it toward the end of broiling so the butter won’t burn in the broiler.  If baking in the oven, you can go ahead and put it on the chicken or seafood at the beginning of the cooking process.  This is very Atkins-friendly (all phases), Keto diets and would be suitable for Paleo-Primal consumption if you first clarify the butter to remove the milk solids.

For many more sauces and dinner ideas for those sauces, visit the folks at http://www.facebook.com/LowCarbingAmongFriends.  A photo preview awaits you.  Together, Jennifer Eloff, Chef George Stella and a number of other talented cooks have brought together in a 5-volume set, all the recipe ideas you can imagine.  And they’re all TASTY, EASY and GLUTEN-FREE.  You can order the entire set or individual volumes at Amazon or here.

DISCLAIMER:  I am not paid for this book promotion nor for my recipes therein. I do so simply because they contain marvelous recipes you’ll want to try!

 

INGREDIENTS:

1 stick unsalted butter

¼ c. parsley, chopped

1 T. lemon zest

1 tsp. lemon juice

1 clove garlic, minced

Dash each black pepper and sea salt

DIRECTIONS:  When the butter is nearly to room temperature, using a fork, add and blend in all listed ingredients.   Tear off a 6-8″ piece of plastic wrap and spoon the butter mixture onto the plastic in a long log shape.  Using the plastic to help roll, form a smooth log or flat-sided stick shape the length of a stick of butter. Close the ends of the wrap and chill.  I like to keep in the freezer and just slice off what I need for recipes as needed.  1/8 of the log = 1 T. = 1 serving.  When ready to use for grilling, just melt in a saucepan and baste the seafood or chicken several times during grilling over hot coals.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes eight tablespoons of sauce, each contains:

102.9 calories

11.48 g  fat

.45 g carbs, .15 g  fiber, .3 g  NET CARBS

.21 g  protein

22 mg sodium

17 mg potassium

14% RDA Vitamin A

7 comments on “Lemon-Parsley-Garlic Butter

  1. Hi Peggy. Thanks for your great recipes, I use them all the time. Check the carb count in this recipe, I think it should be .3 not 3.0

    • And .3 is indeed what’s written on my scratch paper. Just fished it out of the wastebasket by my desk. Hee, hee. I just didn’t read it right. I’ll go correct the recipe on the webpage right now! Thanks so much, Susana, for drawing my attention to the mistake. I just found out this month I have to have cataract removal surgery as soon as I can get it scheduled (after tax prep for my mother’s estate) and my eyes are REALLY playing tricks on me with tiny little dots these days. You know your “slowly developing cataracts” have gotten worse when the eye doctor’s tech says “What’s the highest line you can read on the chart?” and you have to admit, “I can’t see any of them. All I see is the bright light you’re shining.” LOL thanks again, Susana. And I’m soooo glad you enjoy my recipes. Makes maintaining the site so worthwhile and rewarding.

    • Welcome Amy. Sounds like this recipe is your cup of tea. We fix a lot of fish and shrimp and this butter is THE best way to have it I think. I try lots of other recipes, but THIS is the one I keep coming back to again and again for seafood.

  2. I am clueless, Peggy, when using something like this, not creative. It sounds really easy to make, but can you tell me specifically how to use it? Do you grill the meat first and then add the sauce or baste it? And how would you use it with shrimp? Oh my gosh, sounds wonderful!

    • For grilled fish, chicken, shrimp or fish, just brush it on the meat several times on both sides during the grilling process. For inside cooking, I usually broil/bake and add the butter toward the end of cooking so as not to burn it in the broiler. Butter burns quickly under very close, high heat. It’s soooo good, Nancy. You’ll love it!

Leave a Comment

