Lupin Flour Bread

click to enlarge

Lupin Flour Bread

My inspiration for this <1g-net-carb-bread was the recipe here:  http://chocolatechillimango.com/2013/01/19/lupin-protein-bread/#.UVhdElfa7jU.   Once I discovered how low-carb lupin flour is, I ordered some and have been experimenting with it lately.  First off, I just had to do something to reduce the yellow color lupin flour gives baked goods.  Yellow might be OK for a cornbread recipe, but I don’t want yellow sandwich bread.  So I set about making considerable changes to the inspirational recipe.

I’m quite pleased with the first loaf of bread and a few other baking experiments with lupin flour.  The bread has a nice firm texture and is moist.  It does not crumble apart like almond flour breads tend to do.  It has a more pleasant taste than most flax breads.  I will continue to experiment with the ingredients to try to achieve a whiter appearance and more “flour-y” taste.  I order my lupin flour direct from: http://www.lopino.com/product/21 .   Netrition.com also has recently started carrying lupin flour.  This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung of the Atkins Phase 2 OWL.  This recipe is unsuitable for Primal-Paleo on several levels.  I might mention that because of its slight “corn taste” this bread makes an excellent bread to crumble up for making cornbread stuffing!

CAUTION:  Lupin beans are a legume closely related to peanuts.  If you have a peanut allergy, I must inform you some peanut sensitive people react negatively to lupin beans.  Many of my low-carb cooking friends have had no problems eating lupin products whatsoever but I have found I do not tolerate this ingredient well, even though I am NOT allergic to peanuts.  Go figure…..no other legume bothers me.  :( 

This recipe appears in Vol. 4. (p.136) of LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS cookbook series by Jennifer Eloff and friends.  Jennifer has brought together a group of very talented low-carb chefs, including none other than George Stella, to offer some of their very tastiest low-carb creations.  Visit them on Facebook at the link above and if you like the photo preview there, like their page and buy the team’s cookbooks at Amazon or here.

DISCLAIMER:  I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes in them. I do so because they are GREAT cookbooks.  ‘Nuff said.

INGREDIENTS:

½ c. lupin flour

¼ c. almond flour

1 T. golden flax meal

2 T. oat fiber (omit if gluten free)

2 T. coconut flour

2 T. plain, unsweetened whey protein powder (I use NOW brand)

1 T. egg white protein (I use NOW brand)

1½ tsp. each baking powder and baking soda

Dash garlic powder

½ tsp. sea salt

2 tsp. glucomannan powder (konjac powder) (optional, but enhances texture & rise)

1 c. grated Monterrey Jack cheese

3 T. water + 1 T. heavy cream

1 T. olive oil

6 beaten eggs

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Lightly grease/oil a loaf pan.   Mine is an unusual shape at 4″x3″x10″.  In a large mixing bowl, measure out all dry ingredients and stir well.  Make a well in the center and add the eggs, oil, water and cream and using a for, beat the liquid ingredients up in the well and slowly incorporate the dry ingredients to form a smooth batter.  Mine was fairly thick.  Spoon into the greased loaf pan, leveling with your rubber spatula.  Pop into preheated 350º oven for 30-40 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test in the center.  Remove, cool slightly and loosen from the pan with a knife.  I easily slice mine into 16 ½” slices using the 10″ loaf pan.  Using a deeper, shorter more standard loaf pan, you will need to see how many slices you get and recalculate your per slice stats.  I will provide the numbers for the entire loaf to facilitate recalculating.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  I get 16 slices from my 10″ long loaf:

1/16 loaf contains: 95 cals., 6.7 g  fat, 4.21 g  carbs, 3.34 g fiber, .87 NET CARBS, 6.78 g protein

Entire recipe contains:  1501 cals., 108 g  fat, 67.3 g  carbs, 53.4 g  fiber, 13.9 g  NET CARBS, 108 g  protein

20 comments on “Lupin Flour Bread

  1. I made the lupin bread and was very impressed with how much the raw lupin flavor baked out of it. I thought the bread was too egg-y. Do you think three of the eggs could be replaced with maybe 1/4 cup water and 1/4 cup oil or something like that? Have you ever tried it with fewer eggs? Thanks for your recipe!

    • I’ve discovered I’m highly allergic to lupin four and am not testing with it any longer, Donna. That said, for me, the taste that came through wasn’t eggs, but the “bean-y” taste of the lupin bean flour itself, which comes through in everything I’ve baked with it so far except my Lupin Lemon Cookies. Not sure you can eliminate that bean-y taste. Things you might try would be to bake it with just 2 whole eggs and the equivalent of 5 egg-whites (he carton-type egg whites). That would reduce the egg-y taste associated with more yolks. Another option might be to use two whole eggs and 4 T. flaxmeal and 3/4 water for the other 4 eggs. But that will assuredly impact appearance and also move the taste of the bread toward a much stronger flax taste (which you might like better).

      • Thank you for your response. I’m wondering about your allergy. What symptoms did you have? I’m going to try the bread with 1/3 lupin, 1/3 carbalose and 1/3 sunflower seed flour (very unfortunately, almond flour gives me bad headaches). I’ll play around with the liquid ingredients, too. Thanks again. ~Donna

        • Developed random nickel to quarter-sized red patches all over my torso, a few on my legs and upper arms. my dermatologist thought it was a rare, incurable skin fungus called Purpura “lichen aureus” at first. But it didn’t really respond much to the cream treatment for that, and more red patches erupted. When I highly suspected the lupin flour and stopped experimenting and eating things with it, the patches went away and no more developed. Lesson learned.

  2. Got my lupin flour, egg white protein powder, and glucomannan today and couldn’t wait to try this bread. I thought the lupin taste was a bit strong and was saying that I could maybe add a touch more garlic (how much is a dash, after all) but DH said “I like it!” The only low carb breads he has said he likes is this one and your GF/GF focaccia style bread. I definitely feel this recipe is a keeper.

  3. Peggy, you peaked my interest in Lupin flour. (I really hadn’t noticed anything about it till I got your email about this blog post.)
    I had to go order some to try! Sure hope I like it, cause I ordered 9 bags!!
    It is supposed to get here tomorrow. And I’ve got to try this bread. Have you been doing any more tweaking yet? (I know on LCF you said you needed to take a break on baking stuff for a while.)
    I don’t mind yellower bread if it would give me good quality taste, and lower carbs. Any thoughts on that? Carb counts are pretty great now tho!

    • Billie, I am still having positive feelings about further testing with it. The posted recipe is good, but not quite as good as my whiter breads made with a bit of Carbquick or Jen’s GF bake mix. But I’m avoiding all flour nowadays, and I’ll settle for “not quite as good” if I can achieve “no wheat flour” and <1 carb a slice. :) I actually think it has a slight corn taste (so did DH), as my Jalapeno Cheese Bread does for some inexplicable reason. So I plan to take advantage of that flavor to make it next time into corn muffins and add a little bit of my "Fresh Corn" flavoring and maybe a bit of pureed baby corn? I sure liked the lemon cookies I made with lupin flour. And if I ever start making cakes and such again, look forward to try out a lemon cake and perhaps a "fruitcake" of some sort. I don't think you'll be sorry you invested in 9 bags. I think this stuff has a lot of potential.

      • Thanks Peggy!
        I’m expecting my flour in this afternoon sometime. I plan to try either this, or perhaps just try Tulipsandroses, which doesn’t have the cheese. ??? Decisions decisions!! I’ll probably try this one.
        I’m anxious to find out what you think about it in the cornbread.
        Don’t like Jalapeño, so I never tried that bread. (Not just the heat, I can tolerate more heat now than years ago, just don’t like the flavor of Jalapeños. I have odd tastes. As I’m sure you’ve read, I can’t stand Parmesan cheese (smell or taste)! And SO MANY really like it!
        By the way, my pan is 3″D X 5 1/4″X10. (Actually I have several,but this is my favorite.

        • Billie, you could leave out the jalapeno and add sub in chopped black olives and feta into that other recipe for a lovely Greek olive-feta bread maybe? Bet it would be good, too. My DH would like that combo. I’ll have to try that myself! :)

        • My mail ran, and no Lupin flour! BOO!!! :>(
          As for those subs, unfortunately I don’t like those either (the black olives or the feta). Told ya I had odd tastes!! But thanks for the tip anyway! Probably not a big Greek food fan. I’m not big on Italian food.
          I’m not sure if I’ve looked at the Jalapeño bread recipe. Can’t remember.

        • Thanks for the link Peggy. It may very well help someone else. I did go take a look at it. But, as I said, I don’t like Jalapeños so this is a recipe I won’t try myself. (nor do I like those other subs you suggested.)
          For some reason this didn’t give me a reply link on the post with the link, so I replied here. Odd!

    • Yes. Thank you so much Beth. I left out the decimal. I have worsening cataracts that are going to be removed next month. Despite my proofreading, I didn’t even see that decimal wasn’t there! Thanks again. I’ve corrected it now.

Leave a Comment

