Puerto Rican Beef Sofrito (on zoodles)

Click to enlarge

Puerto Rican Beef Sofrito

This delicious dinner takes all of about 10 minutes if you have the sofrito sauce made up and in the freezer.  I try to keep some made up all the time.  It’s delicious on so many things. My husband (who isn’t low-carbing 100%) said he would like to have his on steamed rice next time.  I’m sure that would be good for your non-low-carb diners.  But it was VERY good on my “zoodles” (zucchini noodles) and would doubtless be good over steamed, slightly mashed cauliflower.   This dish as written is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Primal and Paleo diners as well.

INGREDIENTS:

1.5 T. olive oil or coconut oil (I used half each)

2 oz. yellow onion, sliced

10 oz. lean beef chuck steak or sirloin (I used a small, grass-fed flat-iron steak)

4 T. Sofrito

2  7-0z. zucchini or calaba squash (only outer part is used)

DIRECTIONS:   Slice your squash into noodles using a julienne peeler, or a Spirooli or Noodler if you own one of those tools.  I only cut down to the seeded part of the squash when I make zoodles, saving the center, seed-laden portion of the squash for other uses, usually casseroles.  So only 4 oz. of each 7-oz. squash actually went into this dish.

Trim your meat of all visible fat and gristle.  Pound thin and slice into small pieces.  In a medium non-stick skillet, heat about 1 T. of the oil and saute onion over high heat until it begins to brown.  Add meat and saute until it, too, begins to brown.  While it is browning, add zoodles to a second skillet over medium-high heat with 1 tsp. olive oil.  Saute-steam, stirring with a long-tined kitchen fork to stir.  Cook them until they are just beginning to get translucent and soft.  Turn heat off the zoodles.  Turn heat off the meat skillet now, too.  Add the sofrito sauce to the meat mixture and stir to blend.  Plate half the zoodles on each of your dinner plates and top each pile of zoodles with half the meat mixture.   I served this with a marinated cucumber and tomato salad but it would also be good with broiled, seasoned tomatoes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 2 servings, each contains:

400 calories

23.35 g  fat

8.4 g  carbs, 2.35 g  fiber, 6.05 g  NET CARBS

38.15 g  protein

203 mg sodium

2 comments on “Puerto Rican Beef Sofrito (on zoodles)

  1. I just want to post a comment here that I really really really appreciate your recipes that arrive in my email inbox! I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes over a year ago and I am managing it with low carbing alone, no meds, and my numbers are down in the high normal range. Your info is in my regular rotation of culinary ideas. Please don’t ever stop experimenting and posting your delicious results! :D

    • Why THANK you, Arlene! It’s so nice of you to take the time to tell me. I’m delighted my recipes are helping you and offer the variety to help you stick with low-carb effortlessly and to control your glucose levels so effectively. My husband (also T2) is keeping his in line with what I serve him, too. I don’t have glucose issues; just weight issues. :) Happy cooking to you!

Leave a Comment

