Smoked Gouda Bison Burgers

Smoked gouda Bison Burgers

Smoked Gouda Bison Burgers

I bought some organic, ground bison at my local Natural Grocers this week and decided to try a meat I’ve never had before.  Well, that isn’t exactly true.  I think I had a bison burger on a bun one time in Colorado, maybe 25 years ago, but honestly don’t recall the flavor at all.  So I consider my experience with it tonight will be new to my palate.

Wasn’t sure how I wanted to fix this meat, but I knew for certain I wanted to avoid drowning out the flavor of the meat with too many flavor layers. Although I’m not too fond of cheese on burgers, I do like smoked Gouda on just about anything, as my readers well know, and decided that it might just play a role in the final dish.  As we all know, a wee bit of onion and bacon never hurt anything, so I decided that would  round it out nicely.

The final dish came out delicious!  I think now that I definitely LIKE bison, but to be honest, it’s not terribly different from grass-fed ground beef, which I enjoy regularly. Bison brings some impressive nutritional numbers to your plate.  Check them out below!  This dish is suitable for all phases of Atkins and is also OK for Primal diners that enjoy occasional cheese.  But Paleo followers will want to omit the cheese and have a simple bacon bison burger.  This recipe would also be nice made from grass-fed beef, lamb or even ground pork.   And it goes without saying that grilling the patties over charcoal will take their “smoky” flavor to an even higher level!

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

1 T. ground chia seeds

9 T. water

1 lb. ground bison (I buy at Natural Grocers)

3 oz. red onion, minced very fine

4 tsp. bacon grease

dash each salt and pepper

1/8 tsp. my Homemade Cavender’s Greek Seasoning

5 slices bacon, chopped

6 oz. smoked Gouda, sliced/separated into 4 portions

DIRECTIONS:  Grind the chia seeds in a coffee grinder or your blender and place in a lidded jar.  Add the water and allow the seeds to gel up for about 5-10 minutes, shaking occasionally.   In a medium mixing bowl, place the meat. Add the minced onion, salt, pepper, Cavender’s blend and mix well with a fork or your hands. Add all of the chia gel and mix that in as well, until you achieve uniform dispersal in the meat mixture. Set the bowl of meat aside for a few minutes.  In a non-stick skillet, brown the chopped bacon until done.  Drain the bacon crumbles on paper towels.  Scrap the bacon grease in the skillet into the meat mixture in the bowl and blend well with a fork.  Form four 4-oz. meat patties and brown in the same skillet you browned the bacon in.  When the meat is done to your liking, if your skillet can’t go into the broiler or oven safely, transfer the meat patties to an oven-safe dish or pan.  Top each patty with 1/4 of the smoked Gouda.  Pop into the broiler or a hot oven long enough to melt the cheese and finally, top each off with 1/4 of the bacon crumbles. Plate up with your favorite sides and ENJOY!  These are very filling with the chia gel and boast some impressive nutritional stats below!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes four 4-oz. servings of meat, each contains:

397 calories

30 g  fat

2.83 g  carbs, .88 g  fiber, 1.95 g  NET CARBS

27.6 g  protein

495 mg sodium

 

2 comments on “Smoked Gouda Bison Burgers

  1. I am very interested in your use of chia seeds in the burgers. Did you use them as a binder to hold moisture in the burger (like we used to use crackers or bread crumbs)? If yes to you think they would work well in a meat loaf? I have been wanting to find a good substitute for in meatloaf that didn’t add a lot more protein (like pork rinds) or carbs (like almond flour). I don’t care for the taste of flax so I was reluctant to experiment with it and maybe ruin some good meat. What are your thoughts on this – when you have a moment.
    Thank you for your help.

    • Welcome, Laura! I’m not so fond of flax taste, but in meatloaf, 1 T. dissolved in a couple tablespoons of water won’t be noticed in your meatloaf’s final flavor. Yes, I use the chia gel for both binding and moisture here. Bison is way too lean for burgers IMO. Chia gel works effectively in meatloaf, patties, meatballs, chicken and fish cakes, in anything you might otherwise use egg for binding. An equivalent volume of homemade mayo will do the same thing in some recipes. I have even used chia gel in baked goods, with wonderful texture-improving results, but of course there, you will usually see it in the final product and that is visually off-putting to some. But it works to bind those dry/crumbly alternate flours quite nicely. So do try it in your next meatloaf. Be aware that chia has carbs, and is metabolized pretty much like grains, so YMMV (your mileage may vary…..metabolically speaking, that is). If it causes weight gain, just use it less often. Hope my explanation helps in your kitchen experiments with chia. Such a healthy, “super” food, I like to keep it in my life, and often! :)

Leave a Comment

