Grilled Chicken Salad

Click to enlarge (shown with my Balsamic Vinaigrette)

Click to enlarge (shown with my Balsamic Vinaigrette)

As of this week, I have returned to Atkins Induction (four years into my Atkins journey), as my very smart, very stubborn metabolism is fighting me tooth and nail to lose my last 20 or so pounds.  I have been stalled at the same weight for precisely 3½ years, with no appreciable gains, no appreciable losses.  I need to focus on the fact that I have maintained my weight for four years!  That alone is quite an accomplishment, considering my husband is NOT low-carbing 100% with me and often indulges in verboten foods in front of me.  I should not just dwell on the fact that I haven’t lost anymore after the initial 36#.

For this reason, I won’t be (baking or) posting very many breads, cakes or desserts for awhile.  Although eating them hasn’t outwardly caused me to gain weight, eliminating them for awhile just might facilitate my beginning to lose again.  You see the most of my dairy intake is from baked goods, so in ditching them, I ditch the major intake of cream, cream cheese, hard cheese and soft cheese, which may just be an issue for my weight loss efforts.  Plus, I find when baked goods are in the house, I eat them.  Simple as that.  So for awhile, the lion’s share of my posts will be main dishes, veggies, salads, and complimentary foods like sauces, condiments and spices I create.  I hope my readers will be patient with my temporary website “detour” and hope it will not last for long.  I am the eternal optimist. :)  Fortunately, I already have lots of dessert and baked goods recipes on the site for you to browse through and try out until I can afford to start eating such things again on a regular basis. I will do a little baking during the holidays, for hubby and family, but that’s all I can really do along those lines until I get to my goal weight.  :)

The light and delicious salad shown above was what we had for lunch today.   I remembered I had a char-grilled chicken breast in the freezer I decided to thaw and slice to have atop our salads.  We both love smoked meats on green salads!  A very nice and easy lunch!   This salad keeps me easily within my max carb number for the day.  This dish is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and Primal-Paleo consumption as well.

INGREDIENTS:

2½-3 c. loosely packed mixed salad greens of your choosing (enough to fill a dinner plate nicely)

¼ small carrot, sliced thinly (optional)

5 thin slices cucumber

3 cherry tomatoes, sliced in halves

3 oz. grilled chicken breast, sliced thin (I leave the skin on)

1½ T. my Balsamic Vinaigrette: http://buttoni.wordpress.com/2013/10/28/balsamic-vinaigrette/

DIRECTIONS:  Cut up and plate the salad greens, carrot, tomatoes and cucumbers.  Slice and add the grilled chicken.  Top with the dressing and serve.  ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes salad for 1 person.  This salad contains:

329 calories

20.2 g  fat

8.9 g  carbs, 4.1 g  fiber, 4.8 g  NET CARBS (3.6 if you omit the carrot)

25.7 g  protein

356 mg sodium

415 mg potassium

2 comments on “Grilled Chicken Salad

  1. I reallylove to read, & prepare yourrecipe, & stories you share with all of us. I feel as i know you, like the friend one has who lives nextdoor! I am so gLad yo are going back to BASICS, with -Atkins. I am 81, been on Atkins mostly on, but some OFFS,& I have a real need to get back, along with you. For montths i never varied at the scale. Now its backtrack time. I am also doing A BLOODSUGAR program with Dr, Mark Hyman.. Tougher than Atkins, & I finally went back 5 more lbs. i had lost 10 lbs in 2 wekks, & now in a holding period again. Keep up your good work, via e mail, & personal journey!! Joyce L

Leave a Comment

