Perfect Rib Roast

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Well, I made it through yet another Christmas feast!  Now, my husband is sound asleep in his favorite chair so I thought I’d post my favorite method for cooking rib roasts that I used tonight.  It’s how my mother roasted them for years and years and folks, it just doesn’t get any easier or any tastier! This method has never, EVER failed me.  This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Ketogenic diets and Primal-Paleo if you use coconut aminos.

My roasts are usually bone-in as I think they cook more evenly with the bones in them.  But I do remove them after cooking to make slicing the meat easier.  I served my roast tonight with French-style green beans and a tasty cauliflower mash along with a lovely Grand Marnier fruit salad on the side.  All I can say is……………Mmm. Mmm. Mmm.

We like rib roast medium rare and you can see, it cooked perfectly for me as always.  My roast was 4.5 pounds and after removing the bones, I got 8 nice 8-oz. servings (3/8″ thick slices) from the hunk of lean meat remaining.   My little rat terrier got one of the meaty bones for her Christmas dinner.  She was in sheer heaven.  :)  No doubt, my husband will eat the other one for lunch tomorrow.  He just loves to gnaw the bones.

INGREDIENTS:

4½ pound beef rib roast (I usually buy bone-in and allow 1# to serve 2 people when buying)

1 T. coconut aminos, tamari or low-sodium soy sauce

½ clove garlic (or 1/4 tsp. garlic powder

¼-1/3  tsp. coarse cracked black pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat the oven to 325º.  Place the roast on a cutting board or right in your roasting pan if you prefer.  If using fresh garlic, the first step is to cut your clove in half and rub the cut surface all over the surfaces of the meat (all sides, including the bony side).   If not using fresh garlic, step 1 is to drizzle the coconut aminos or soy sauce over the meat surfaces and rub it in with your fingers.  Step 2 is to sprinkle the garlic powder on the meat surfaces.  Last, sprinkle the black pepper all over the meat surfaces.  Place roast bone side down in your roasting pan.  Roast at 325º for 15 minutes to the pound.

Check center of the roast with a meat thermometer (be sure the thermometer tip isn’t touching bone).  The meat is rare at an internal temperature of 115º; medium rare at 120º; well done at 125º and probably overcooked and “dead” (dry and tough) at 130º or higher.   I personally think it is a crime to eat such a wonderful cut of meat well done, but to each his own preferences.    Since we like our rib roast medium rare, I always take it out of the oven when it reads (115º rare) as it will continue to cook as you let it sit on the counter for 5 minutes before carving.  You don’t want to bypass the sitting period or the minute you start slicing, all the wonderful juices will ooze out onto the cutting board and be wasted.  Carve off the bones and set aside.  Carve up 8 nice 3/8″ slices and serve at once.

I like to deglaze the roasting pan with a dab of water over low heat while the meat is “sitting”. Just stir to get up all the brown bits to make your “au jus” sauce.  Add a dash of salt and pepper to the juice if needed.  Serve your roast with horseradish sauce if desired.  My recipe for that sauce is here:  Horseradish Sauce

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes eight 8-oz.servings (plus the meaty bones leftover).  Each 8-0z. slice contains:

846 calories

69 g  fat (less if you trim all visible off as you eat)

.7 g  carbs, .2 g  fiber, .5 g  NET CARBS

52 g  protein

209 mg sodium

671 mg potassium

35% RDA Vitamin B6, 220% B12, 23% copper, 169% iron, 15% magnesium, 59% niacin, 56% phosphorous, 40% riboflavin, 88% selenium, 15% thiamin, 163% zinc

2 comments on “Perfect Rib Roast

    • I guarantee it comes out delicious every time I make it, Eileen. I did link the recipe for you at the referenced link. Wasn’t sure I was doing it right, but didn’t get an error message, so I think it is linked now for you. Thanks for the exposure as well.

Leave a Comment

