Tex-Mex Beef Bone Broth Soup

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Bone broth is so very good for you!  I make it, freeze it and use it at every opportunity in my cooking.  I like to collect my grass-fed beef bones in a large plastic bag in the freezer.  Then when I have a big batch, I make extra rich bone broth from them.  I happened to have  1½ quarts of made-up broth in my freezer today and decided it was a good day for soup for lunch.   I didn’t add too much to the pot…just a few vegetables and some leftover grass-fed brisket that was also in the freezer.  I tossed in a couple things to spice it up and VOILA!  Another delicious, hearty soup for a chilly winter day.  This soup is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto diets and Primal-Paleo as well.

INGREDIENTS:

1½ qts. (6 cups) beef bone broth

1 c. rich, beef gravy (I used some leftover made from chuck roast pan drippings)

8 oz. cooked beef chuck or brisket, diced (I used grass-fed brisket)

½ c. Rotel tomatoes with green chilies

1 c. diced tomatoes (I used no-salt canned)

3 stalks celery, chopped

2 small carrots, chopped

4 T. my chimichurri sauce:  (or 2 T. each fresh parsley, cilantro and minced jalapeno pepper)

½ tsp. blend of your favorite chili powder blend (I used a blend of smoky chipotle, guajillo and ancho)

2 cloves garlic, minced

Dash each salt and coarse black pepper

DIRECTIONS:   Place all ingredients in a large soup pot and bring to a boil.  Simmer for at least 1 hour to cook vegetables tender and to blend the flavors together.  Serve with your favorite low-carb crackers.  I served mine with my new Almond-Arrowroot Crackers.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 6 large bowls (about 1-1¼c. each).  Each serving contains:

228 calories

14.5 g  fat

6.01 g  carbs, 1.61 g  fiber, 4.4 g  NET CARBS

16.4 g  protein

262 mg sodium

199 mg potassium

23% RDA Vitamin A, 13% B6, 127% B12, 9% C, 7% calcium, 14% copper, 52% iron, 5% magnesium, 37% manganese, 42% niacin, 21% phosphorous, 25% riboflavin, 38% selenium, 5% thiamin, 62% zinc

Leave a Comment

