Purple Cabbage and Kale

Click to enlarge

Purple Cabbage and Kale (with a twist)

I always hesitate to cook cabbage.   It’s my husband’s least favorite vegetable in all the world.  He will eat it, but usually begrudgingly, as he is really not very fond of it.   I, on the other hand, just love the stuff!  I love the green, savoy, Chinese.  I love it stir-fried, boiled, steamed, raw or cooked into soups, casseroles and especially cooked as is done in India, with exotic Indian spices.  But I do try to find creative ways to cook it so that my husband might actually enjoy it.  To that end, I have had a few successes.  Last night’s creation was another one of these please-your-man successes.  He said nothing during the meal, but as we cleared the table, He said:  “That cabbage dish was pretty tasty!”  Coming from him, the compliment definitely put a smile on my face.

This recipe is suitable for all phases of Atkins, Keto, Primal and Paleo nutritional lifestyles.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

3 oz. onion, sliced thinly

2 c. shredded purple cabbage

1 c. raw kale, stemmed and sliced coarsely

1 T. my Sofrito sauce

Dash each salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Heat the olive oil in a skillet or wok over high heat.  Add the onion and saute until it is softened and just beginning to caramelize.  Add the cabbage and kale and stir-fry just until the cabbage is softening, as you don’t really want to lose all of the crunchiness or the pretty color.  The kale should be cooked adequately by the time cabbage is done just right.  Stir in the Sofrito and sprinkle on the salt and pepper.  Remove from heat.  I served mine with my Montreal Baked Chicken and they were delicious together!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:     Makes 4 servings, each contains:

93 calories

7.6 g  fat

5.1 g  carbs, 1.32 g  fiber, 4.78 g  NET CARBS

1.3 g  protein

21% RDA Vitamin A, 10% B6, 56% C, 7% E, 7% copper, 13% manganese

5 comments on “Purple Cabbage and Kale

  1. The colors of this are so beautiful together and the matching bowl is just artistic! I love when food/presentation looks as wonderful as it tastes. I would love to try this recipe but had a question about the onion in it. My husband and I like the flavor that onions bring to a recipe, just don’t like the onions themselves – I don’t know, something about the texture- ugh. Would leaving the onion out make a huge difference in the final taste? What about using onion powder instead? Or, if I sauteed an onion in the oil and then removed the onion – would that give me the flavor I needed? What kind of onion should I use if that would be best? Sorry for all the questions. Any suggestion is appreciated and thank you!
    Robin

    • Thank you Robin. I got those dishes in Worcester England at the “seconds” Royal Worcester Porcelain Clearance Factory. “Victorian Violets” is the name of the pattern. I always use it for photographing purple cabbage recipes. :) Omitting the onion would make it less sweet, of course. That caramelization of the sugar in the onion mellows the taste of both the cabbage and the greens. But sauteeing and removing will give you a little of that sweetness. But frankly, as far as the texture of them, sauteing totally makes them soft, plus in this dish, I would think the texture couldn’t be noticed for the crunch of the cabbage and kale, as that is barely wilted in the saute process. :) For best results use the sweeter yellow onions. White onions can be both hot and to me, a bit strong. I hope you like this dish, Robin. :)

  2. It is one thing have an ad on the site, but another when you are reading this on an iPad and the ad forces you over to the App Store and gives you the install screen for the advertised app! Time to boycott this site and the castle clash app!

    • I’m so sorry if that happened to you. WordPress places the ads on my site and I have no control over them. But nobody else in 4 years of this site’s existence has ever mentioned this redirect you are describing, Not doubting it happened, but that seems quite odd to me. But what you are saying is quite disturbing to me and I have a pending support inquiry to see what WordPress’s response or explanation is. Thank you for citing the specific ad so they can look into it. I’ll post their response here if you will kindly check back.

Leave a Comment

