Pork in Queso Flameado Sauce

Pork in Queso Flameado

Pork in Queso Flameado Sauce

If you’ve ever ordered Queso Flameado in a Mexican restaurant, it’s a flavor you won’t soon forget. It’s a thick melted cheese fondu with chorizo crumbled in it served with flour tortillas to roll it up in. It is considered an appetizer.  It is sooo good!  Well, this new dish I created this evening is an entree with pork that features the ingredients of that popular appetizer.  If you love Mexican food, you’ve GOT to try this dish!  My husband just loved it, as did I!   This dish also sports some very impressive nutritional numbers below, so it’s a keeper in my book.  It is suitable for all phases of Atkins and other Ketogenic diets.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

12 oz. pork loin, cut into 4 portions

1 link chorizo, removed from the skin and crumbled

2 T. unsalted butter

4 large green onions, chopped

1/2 c. red bell pepper, chopped

1 c. cilantro, chopped

1/2 c. heavy cream

1/2 c. water

6 oz. Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded (or more if you can afford the carbs)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Pound the 4 pieces of pork with a meat tenderizer.  Melt butter in large skillet over high heat.  Brown pork on both sides until nearly done.  Remove.  Add crumbled chorizo and brown, crumbling as small as you can as it cooks.   Add the green onions, bell pepper and saute until they are tender.  Lower heat to medium low and add cream, water and cilantro.  Simmer a couple minutes to reduce a bit. Sprinkle the cheese over the sauce and lay pork on top.  Pop into preheated oven and bake for 15 minutes or until bubbly and the meat appear to be done.  Serve 1/4 of the sauce over each portion of meat.  This pairs nicely with mashed cauliflower or a nice guacamole salad alongside.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

567 calories

45 g  fat

4.35 g  carbs, 1.15 g  fiber, 3.2 g  NET CARBS

36 g  protein

654 mg sodium

527 mg potassium

33% RDA Vitamin A, 37% B6, 33% B12, 40% c, 8% E, 5% calcium, 10% copper, 18% iron, 11% magnesium, 5% manganese, 39% niacin, 36% phosphorous, 33% riboflavin, 55% selenium, 83% thiamin, 30% zinc

21 comments on “Pork in Queso Flameado Sauce

  1. This all sounds yummy except for all that cilantro. I really don’t care for it. Is there a successful substitute for cilantro

    • Not really, Kay. Three options come to mind: 1) just omit it; 2) omit it and sub in a can of mild green chilies or some chopped mild poblano pepper; 3) or sub in a little chopped parsley, for a similar herb-like taste. Hope one of those sounds appealing to you. This is a great dish, and would be pretty good if you just omit the cilantro.

  2. I made this for dinner tonight after seeing the recipe on Facebook this morning. Like Dave, I used 4 huge bone-in chops. I baked them a lot longer than called for, just because they were so thick. (around 40 minutes)

    I have a question about the chorizo….the only kind available around here is the raw Mexican type (which is incredibly greasy), is that was I was supposed to use? I cooked that, then drained the meat in a strainer; yet when I took the pan out of the oven, the sauce was liquid. The flavor was fantastic, but I wish it had been thicker, like in the picture. I did have the lid on the pan whilst it was baking simply because I knew I was going to leave it so long. Maybe next time I will either not use a lid or remove it halfway through.

    I know there are other types of chorizo that are more like kielbasa that aren’t as oily, but I haven’t been able to find that type here.

    Thanks for a great recipe! We all loved the flavor and I’ll definitely be making it again.

    • Yes, all the commercial chorizo I’ve ever had is quite greasy. But some brands are worse than others, for sure. The homemade chorizo I tasted once did not seem to be greasy. Maybe the key is to make it yourself. Actually, if you look closely at my picture, the sauce was not terribly thick. It you’d like more sauce and a thicker sauce, you could use more cheese, or more cream added right before serving to the pan juices and let it reduce a few minutes over low heat to make a thicker sauce. An alternate approach would be to use less water than I call for or actually thicken it with your favorite thickener. I’m sure you’ll get it just ow you like it. And I’m delighted you liked the flavors. :)

      • Actually, I used the water to deglaze the pan, but let most of that cook off. And believe me, I added enough cheese! =D I think the problem was having the lid on, the liquid couldn’t evaporate.

        • I definitely did not cover min, and only had it in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Next time, if you do thick chops, like you said, bake 30 minutes and then uncover. That should take care of it. And you can always add a dab of cream or water if too much evaporates away. ;)

    • Heather, I followed the recipe exactly as written. I used an entire12 oz size of soft link pork chorizo that should be available in most grocery stores. I did not drain the chorizo. Per the recipe I browned the pork chop until nearly done and then finished it off in the oven for about 10 minutes, uncovered.

      I also see why the original recipe was a fondue appetizer as the sauce stands on its own. If there’s any left over in the pan then save it! I’ve use the leftover sauce as a filler and topping for omelets and as a dip for corn chips.

    • Hi, Heather. Homemade chorizo is very easy to make.
      1 lb. ground beef ( I like it lean.)
      1/2 lb. ground pork
      2 tsps. garlic powder
      2 tsps. onion powder
      1-2 TBS. chili powder
      1/2 cup white vinegar
      Mix all ingredients well. Divide into 4-6 portions and roll each portion in long portions inside of wax paper. Twist wax paper ends to secure. Let sit for at least 24 hours for best flavor. Maybe frozen.
      I make up a bunch and freeze it into serving sizes just right for my family.

    • You must be very new to low-carb. A 550 calorie entree is not considered high calorie in many circles but maybe Weight Watchers low-fat program. Been there; done that; low-fat diets do not work for me AT ALL. This program is not a low cal or a low fat program. Dr. Atkins did not want us to count calories, just carbs to stay in ketosis. If you stay in ketosis, you burn off the fat because there are little to no carbs around to use for energy (the body prefers carbs first for energy. If it doesn’t find them, it then looks for fat to burn next. If it doesn’t find fat, it will in desperation convert protein to carbs to meet its energy needs. Pure biology). Now when people get down to only having 10-20# left to lose it gets much tougher. Then they will start also watching calories because they are walking a fine line metabolically between calories in and calories out (exercise). There’s much research and data out there and lots of published articles on the net about low-carb and the biology/science behind it. You should consider looking at the Atkins website for their extensive articles on the “science” behind how low carb really works. You would better understand what is really going on and what best to eat and what is not. And trust me, calories do not play into the equation until you’re closer to goal. Millions eat a lot of calories on this and still lose a lot of weight.

  3. This is a fantastic recipe. My low-carb watching wife passed this on to me (I do all the cooking since she still works and I’m retired). I’ve made it four times, three times for guests and they all wanted the recipe. The only difference is I use bone-in thick pork chops, the kind you find at Trader Joe’s. I also don’t tenderize the meat and cook as-is. The chop comes out tender and delicious. Thanks!

    • Well I’m delighted you folks (and your dinner guests) like this, David. I sure know we were surprised how good it was, and so simple, too. I’ll try the bone-in chops next time. Thanks for the feedback! :)

    • It was quite good, Barb. Let me know how you like it! my preference would have been more cheese, but I’m trying to do 20 TOTAL carbs (not net carbs) a day right now (Dr. Westman’s brand of Atkins). That doesn’t leave much room for cheese carbs. Classic Flameado is incredibly thick with cheese. :)

  4. Oh my gosh this looks amazing! On my to-try list and now that my girls are home from college they can help me make it. Love cooking with them, just don’t like it alone, more of a chore.

    • I think you’ll like this one, Nancy. I don’t know what reminded me of Queso Flameada at Pappacitos Cantina in Houston last night, but that thought inspired this creation. Very tasty, this one. :)

Leave a Comment

