Click to enlarge


This is the basic coleslaw I’ve been making nearly 50 years now.  And my mother did some 50 or more years before me.  Only think I add is a bit of spice.  This recipe is Induction friendly. 🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


½  c. mayonnaise  (preferably homemade)

¼  tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. black pepper

Seasoning of your choice or a dash of my Seafood Spice Blend

1/8 tsp. celery seed (if using celery salt, be sure to reduce salt above)

1/8 tsp. granular Splenda or 1 drop liquid sweetener

1 T. wine vinegar

4 c. cabbage, finely grated or chopped (all green, or add some purple along with a little grated carrot if you like)

DIRECTIONS:  Stir Splenda into mayonnaise in large bowl.  Add all remaining dressing ingredients stirring well to blend.  Add the 4 c. finely grated cabbage and toss to coat all cabbage.  Chill 20-30 minutes before serving.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 8 servings, each will be about 2 tablespoons of the dressing.  Each serving has:

100 calories

11.05 g  fat

.18 g  carbs,  .03 g  fiber, .15 g NET CARBS

.33 g  protein

77 mg. sodium

8 comments on “Coleslaw

  1. Miss Peggy I hope and pray all will go just fine for you and your …… or what ever it is……………prayers are being sent up right now……..that.all will be well with little pain…
    you my dear,, are a true insperation to me…………and i been at this low carb a very long time…………but I LOVE IT……WILL NOT CHANGE….
    .god bless you and everyone hopes you…. get over this quickly as you can………sheila


    • Thank you Sheila. I got home last night and am only getting on-line 15-20 minutes a day or so. Ovarian tumor. Most likely not malignant, but no path report back yet. Big as a cabbage. The doc took a pic and will show me next office visit. It was attached to all surrounding organs and possibly the cause of a March bulging disk in my spine that sent me to the ER. But it didn’t show up on a simple xray done in the ER. Took a lot time to free it up the doc said, with a second surgeon called in. Feeling better each day though. On enough pain meds to keep an elephant happy.🙂


  2. I’m a beginner at your blog. Very helpful. Thank you. I don’t understand the nutritional info for the coleslaw. How much is a serving? Carbs, fiber and net carbs don’t seem to tally.


    • Welcome to my site, FN. And thanks so much for bringing the typing errors to my attention. I’ve just reentered all my ingredients into and recalculated the 2 tablespoon servings and corrected the nutritional info. If you use commercial mayo, which I don’t, the carbs will be a bit higher if your brand has any sugar in it. My homemade mayo does not.🙂


Leave a Comment

