Lime Cheesecake

Click to enlarge

Lime Cheesecake

My husband likes anything lime, so here’s his favorite:  Lime cheesecake.  Me, I prefer my unbaked lime cheesecake as I like them fluffier.  He prefers the baked ones because he likes them denser.  :)  This is what he always asks for on his birthday.  The filling, baked crustless, is OK for Induction, but the Pecan Crust must be saved until you get to Phase 2 OWL.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS. She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try. Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or our direct order site:

DISCLAIMER: By personal choice, I do not accept payment for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein. I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


5   8 oz. blocks of cream cheese, softened

5 beaten eggs

3/4 c. Splenda granular sweetener (or your preferred sweetener to equal 3/4 c. sugar)

1/2 c. heavy cream

1/2 c. sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla

Few drops Boyajian Lime Oil (I order direct from their site, but Whole foods carries)

(or you can substitute 1/2 tsp. lime extract or 1 T. lime juice)

grated zest of 1 lime

couple drops green food coloring

1 recipe my Pecan Pie Crust

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Press 1/2 crust mixture into bottom of  springform pan.  Bake 10 minutes to toast lightly.  Cool.  Using a mixer or blender, mix all cheesecake ingredients but cream cheese.  Slowly add cream cheese in small amounts.  Blend until smooth.  Pour into pan with crust.  Sprinkle remaining pie crust crumbles on top of cheesecake.  Bake at 350º for 1- 1½ hours or until knife inserted in middle comes out clean.   If serving to company, I like to top with sweetened whipped cream and garnish the center with a slice of lime you have cut along one radius and twisted, standing it up in the middle of the pie.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Serves 12, each slice including crust contains (whipped cream topping not included below):

535 calories

52.43 g  fat

7.71 g  carbs, 1.84 g  fiber, 5.93 NET CARBS

27.8 g  protein

approx. 24 mg. sodium

5 comments on “Lime Cheesecake

  1. Hey Buttoni,
    psychjean from over at atkins. Followed your link from a forum post. Here’s my issue: I’m actually down in Miami-Homestead for an extended stay and went down into the Keys the last 2 weekends. I went ahead and had a piece of Key Lime Pie b/c it’s my absolute fave. I REALLY want to duplicate it in low-carb version, if possible. I can get the crust just like I like it, so not worried about that. It’s the pie itself I’m wondering on. I’ve done a lime Jello mixed filling before that was yuck to me. I don’t want that, neither do I want one that is all fluffy, like its lime flavored whipped cream. But I do want the frozen/cold like the “real” thing. If I make this version you have here, but freeze it, do you know if it’s gonna be more like real key lime pie, or just like eating a frozen cheesecake?


    • Glad you found the site, Jean. Actually, you never want to freeze cream cheese AT ALL, in blocks or in cheesecake. Ruined an amaretto cheesecake once doing that very thing. I also relearned that lesson freezing many blocks of cream cheese I had stocked up on when it was on sale. It turned out to be no bargain since I had to either toss it all out or try to use it all up in dips and things like creamed spinach where the smoothness (or maybe I should say lack thereof) wasn’t so problematic. It gets all grainy and breaks down when frozen. Very off-putting visually. Taste is OK, but it just separates. If you try to cook a sauce with it, it looks like curdled cream! Yuck! My recipe is a cooked cheesecake and has the texture of most cooked cheesecakes I’ve ever tasted, smooth but a little spongy, from the cooking of the eggs I imagine.


  2. I made this cheesecake yesterday and we enjoyed having a cool, refreshing dessert following our supper last night.

    I got up early in order to bake the cheesecake before the heat of the day hit us. Here in GA, it gets hot very quickly. I was able to have the doors & windows open while it cooked and did not need the A/C until about 30 mins after I took the cheesecake out of the oven! Sometimes, timing is everything! LOL

    Thanks for another great recipe.


Leave a Comment

