Lemon Tart

Lemon Tart

Lemon Tart

I recently modified a lemon pie recipe to come up with a quite tasty lemon dessert Atkins OWLers can enjoy.  Those still on Induction could make it crustless for an Induction-friendly baked lemon custard.  :)  The crust, BTW, would make an excellent all-purpose pie crust for other pies.  It didn’t get soggy on the bottom even after 4 days!  Really tastes like a traditional flour pie crust to me!  Two large lemons should yield enough juice and peel for this recipe.


1 T. lemon zest, grated

¼ c. lemon juice

¼ c. water

2/3 c. granular Splenda

6 T. unsalted butter

3 whole eggs

3 egg yolks

1 prebaked “Peggy’s Pie Crust”:   https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2009/12/17/peggys-pie-crust/

DIRECTIONS:  Whisk the eggs, egg yolks and Splenda together in medium saucepan.  Add lemon zest, juice and water.  Whisk again to blend.  Cook over medium-low heat until mixture thickens, about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and stir in remaining butter, stirring until melted.    Pour into pre-baked pie crust and cook 10-15 minutes at 350º until set in center.  Remove from oven, cool and serve.  Can be eaten as is or topped with whipped cream (cream not included in nutritional info below).

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 8 servings, each containing:  (This info includes counts for crust as well)

310 calories

28.7 g  fat

10.1 g  carbs, 5.45 g  fiber, 4.65 g  NET CARBS

9.1 g  protein

88 mg. sodium

6 comments on “Lemon Tart

    • Oops, looks like 350º is such a common baking temp I left it out. Shame on me for expecting you guys to read my mind. LOL Hope you like this slim but tasty tart, Mary. Be sure you understand it’s a thin, 1/2″ filling. If you want a full on pie, I’d double the filling recipe. 🙂


  1. I was looking for low carb dessert ideas and ran across yours and decided to whip up a batch. I am extremely pleased with my first attempt. My little tarts use an almond-based crust:


    I also took the remaining egg whites and topped my desserts with meringue. I couldn’t find my zester, but even without the lemon-skin help my first taste was pleasantly lemony! I couldn’t even wait for it to completely chill before I had to indulge. This one’s a keeper!


  2. The recipe items call for egg yolks…but then the directions mention egg whites. Can you please clarify which one is called for in the recipe?


    • Hi Melissa! That should read egg yolks in the directions as well. Sorry ’bout that. I have corrected the directions to read egg yolks now. Thanks so much for pointing this out to me. I hope you like this little tarte. We sure like it a lot. Lemon is one of my favorite dessert flavors.🙂


Leave a Comment

