Jicama Hash Browns


I’m constantly learning new ways to eat jicama, but this was the very first way I tried it.  http://s217.photobucket.com/albums/cc278/buttonbutt/?action=view&current=misc002.jpg&newest=1 This is one of my favorite ways to have it and it’s wonderful alongside roast beef or your breakfast scrambled eggs!  Tastes and smells just like fried potatoes and onions I’ve made for years….honestly.  Texture is crunchier, of course, but that doesn’t bother me one bit.   They’re great alongside your scrambled eggs or with meats as well!  And this recipe is OK for Induction!

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 c. diced, peeled jicama

1 oz. chopped yellow onion (don’t substitute green, as the caramelizing of the yellow is much better for this)

2 tsp. bacon grease

Dash salt and pepper


Dice jicama into 1/2″ pieces.  Chop onion.  Melt grease in no-stick skillet and brown the two together, stirring often, until jicama begins to brown.   Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 1 serving which contains:

136 calories

8.7 g  fat

13.6 g  carbs, 6.6 g  fiber, 7.0 g  NET CARBS

1.2 g  protein

175 mg. sodium

4 comments on “Jicama Hash Browns

  1. I use chayote as my hash browns substitute. It’s a type of squash that is only 6 net carb in 1 cup. Taste better than jicama in my opinion.


    • Yes, I, too have use chayote this way. I actually like all the different vegetables that make pretty good hash browns. I just use whichever one I have on hand. 🙂


Leave a Comment

