Baked Chicken and Vegetables

Baked Chicken with Vegatables

Baked Chicken and Vegetables

This dish is a “set it and forget it” kind of meal. Love to throw this in the baking pan when I’m tired and want dinner to cook itself.  This recipe delivers on that!    Doesn’t get any easier!  And it is ever so good!  This dish is simalar to my Lebanese Baked Chicken, but this one has no lemon juice in it.  The carrots make this one not suitable for Atkins Induction Phase 1, but you can increase the jicama, substitute zucchini or white pattypan squash, or just omit the carrots altogether until you get to Atkins Phase 2 OWL.  I used calaba squash (Mexican Zucchini) instead of jicama in the batch pictured above.  I change up the veggies depending on what I have on hand and what is in season.  Eggplant works well in this dish with some of my Shawarma Spice Blend (instead of the oregano).   Just so you know, the original recipe I modified for this dish calls for potato wedges instead of jicama.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


20 oz. deboned chicken breasts, to make 4 servings

5 oz. jicama, peeled (or your choice of the veggies mentioned in t VARIATIONS below)

4 oz. yellow onion

8 large cloves garlic

4 Roma tomatoes

½ tsp. oregano

2 tsp. chopped fresh Rosemary

2 tsp. Chachere’s Cajun seasoning (or 2 tsp. my Shawarma Spice Blend)

Dash salt & black pepper

3 T. olive oil

2 medium carrots (optional but included in nutritional numbers below)

VARIATIONS:  Substitute zucchini, yellow squash, turnips, red radishes or white daikon radish for the jicama.  They’re all low in carbs and wont’ greatly impact the carbs count on this dish.  Eggplant is lovely as a substitute for the jicama, but the eggplant will up the carbs a bit, but not a lot.  Use different spice blends of your choice!  Get creative!

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 425º.  Leaving skin on, place chicken on safe surface and flatten a bit with a cleaver to shorten cooking time.  Drizzle l T. of the olive oil in a large glass baking pan (9×13 or lasagna pan).  Dip skin side of chicken into olive oil in the pan, turn skin side up and arrange evenly in pan.  Next, peel and cut jicama into potato-like pieces.  Space evenly around the chicken pieces.   Peel and cut carrots into 1″ pieces and arrange around the meat also.  Next cut the tomatoes into wedges and space decoratively, skin side up,  around the pan.  Try to avoid laying the tomato wedges directly atop the chicken or the skin won’t brown as nicely. Next cut the  onion into small wedges, separate layers,  or cut into ringlets and arrange the onion over the entire pan next.   Cut garlic cloves and arrange evenly in pan, being sure to get some of that atop the chicken itself!  Now sprinkle on the spices and drizzle the remaining olive oil over all.  Try to moisten everything with oil.  Bake uncovered at 425º for about 1½ hours.  Smaller, thinner pieces of chicken, smaller dicing of veggies and varying ovens will impact cooking time, so check the dish after 1 hour if your chicken pieces are less than 6-8 oz. in size.   Voila, a meal in one pot fit for a king!  Hubby just LOVES this dish!

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 4 serving, each containing:

410 calories

21.3 g  fat

9.85 g  carbs, 2.9 g  fiber, 6.95 g  NET CARBS

43.3 g  protein

604 mg. sodium

8 comments on “Baked Chicken and Vegetables

  1. How much of a time different in the cooking process if you used a butterflies whole chicken. Was thing since the chicken takes longer to cook I could bake the chicken for so long then add the veggies of my choice to the chicken to finish baking. Just not sure on the times to precooked chicken and then how long to cook after I add veggies.


    • I would have no idea on either count, Linda Sue. too many variables, like size of chicken, oven temp, veggies chosen. Butterflied chickens will take about an hour, but depends on how hot the oven is really, and how crowded the veggies are around it. Veggies will vary on the ones chosen, so just watch them for about 30 minutes?


  2. I agree with Heather’s comment. Also, if you have a boneless, flattened piece of chicken, how can it handle being baked at 425* for 1 to 1~1/2 hours. You can bake a whole chicken in that time. I will try this and post back the results.


    • See my detailed reply to Heather. I use whole (and nowadays they are huge) chickien breasts I debone myself. They are neither small nor flattened. Chicken will usually take 45 min.-1 hr to bake. When crowded with moisture laden vegetables, the cooking often slows a bit, sot the extra 30 minutes mentioned is to compensate for pan crowding (deeper juices) and differences in ovens. so you see, different sizes/thickness of chicken is not the only variable for cooking time. The directions clearly state to begin checking at 1 hour (to be safe and avoid overcooking). I hope you like this dish, Diane. I look forward to your feedback.🙂


  3. Your recipe says deboned chicken breast but this pictures shows a chicken leg..
    I have never seen skin on boneless chicken breast in the market, do you debone it yourself? Confusing.


    • I bake this recipe often and often throw in different pieces of chicken (whatever is in the freezer) and clearly thew in a leg or 2 the night I took this picture. 🙂 The reason you don’t see skin-on breasts in the market is you’re right, they don’t sell it that way. They are catering to today’s working, busy (and quite honestly in some cases, lazy) cooks. I have never in my life bought meat market-prepared boneless chicken breasts. Won’t pay the what I consider an outrageous price they are asking for it. I’m from a different generation, clearly. I was raised in a family that cut up whole chickens for ALL purposes. When I started cooking myself, meat markets were beginning to sell cut-up chickens. I do now buy bone-in breast quarters. I then debone them myself in about 3 seconds flat and boil the bones for healthy chicken stock. So I get so much more really. Deboning breasts is just not a difficult thing for me. Could do it blindfolded blind. Been doing it 40+ years. It’s just not bothersome or time consuming. And that approach cuts the cost of breasts from $1.98 (or more) down to $.98 when on sale, dramatically cutting cost. It’s the frugal side of me. What can I say?🙂


Leave a Comment

