Beef Hash

We love beef hash at my house and it’s what I usually do with leftover roast beef.  But without potatoes, I was wondering if I’d ever be able to have it again.  I tried it with jicama and it isn’t bad, in my opinion.  Made with turnip, it’s even better.  If you’re to the starchy veggie rung of the OWL ladder, it frankly would be best with rutabaga, which tastes closer to potato to me.  But that will boost the net carbs to approximately 5.0 due to higher carbs in rutabagas.  I also threw a biat of diced bell pepper in this today, but usually don’t.  We like it with bell pepper for a change sometimes.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

1 c. cooked roast beef, diced

½ c. beef gravy or beef roast drippings (I save and freeze after every roast)

3 oz. onion, chopped

4 tsp. bacon grease

6 oz. jicama, turnip or rutabaga, peeled and diced

Dash salt and black pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Heat bacon grease over high heat.  Add diced jicama/turnip/rutabaga and when it begins to brown,  add diced onion.  Continue cooking until both are basically done.  Add cubed meat, salt and pepper.  Next add beef gravy/drippings to pan.  Lower heat and simmer, covered, until flavors have blended well, about 20 minutes.  Stir often to avoid scorching.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes three servings, each containing:

201 calories

13.2 g  fat

7.0 g  carbs, 3.0 g  fiber, 4.0 g  NET CARBS

12.2 g  protein

162 mg sodium