Smoked Gouda Breakfast Pizza


I often create new recipes when my husband isn’t home.  This is one of those.  When I opened the fridge the last time he was out of town, I saw the little dab of homemade pork sausage I had left and my green onion bag laying right beside it.  Got this idea to press the sausage into a pizza “crust”, top with finely chopped green onion, then slivered smoked Gouda (which I always keep in the house, as it’s my favorite cheese) and beaten egg on top of that.  15 minutes in the oven and VOILA!  It was real good!  And Induction friendly, too!

More delicious low-carb breakfast recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


4 oz. seasoned, ground pork (or pork sausage, I make my own recipe.)

2 T. green onion, finely chopped

2 oz. smoked Gouda cheese, shredded or very thinly sliced to help with melting

2 beaten eggs

DIRECTIONS: Using a fork, press the raw pork sausage evenly into the bottom of a greased glass or non-stick quiche pan.   It will be thin.  I used a 7″ small quiche dish.   Top with chopped green onion.  I didn’t have any on hand, but chopped mushrooms would also be good in this.  Top with grated or thinly slivered smoked Gouda cheese (or whatever cheese you prefer).  Beat 2 eggs and carefully drizzle the egg evenly over the top. Bake at 350º for 15 minutes or until center is set.  Cut into “slices” and serve.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 2 servings, each contains:

325 calories

25 g  fat

1.95 g  carbs, .35 g  fiber, 1.6 g NET CARBS

23 g  protein

335 mg sodium

8 comments on “Smoked Gouda Breakfast Pizza

  1. Does it have to be ground pork/pork sausage? My husband can’t eat pork so wondered if I could use beef or chicken instead (though I’m guessing pork holds together better?)


  2. Peggy made this for my breakfast for the first time a few days ago. It was wonderful and so easy. My son who is not a low carber came and ate the rest of it and really liked it. Later that day he wanted more so made it twice in one day. Thanks again for sharing your recipes.


Leave a Comment

