Peggy's Brownies


This is the Miracle Brownie recipe some of you have seen, but I have modified it quite a bit.  I have baked the regular Miracle Brownie recipe as written on two occasions and I frankly found both times it had too much flax in it.  By day two, the brownies almost seemed gritty & grainy with flax and erythritol recrystalization.  So I reduced flax and erythritol and substituted other ingredients and like the final result much better! For fun, I baked these in a new square muffin top pan I acquired.  This is still the best low-carb brownie recipe I’ve found to date, but I consider it a work in progress.   These are not acceptable until OWL.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1 stick unsalted butter, softened

1 c. powdered erythritol

1 c. Splenda

4 pkts. stevia

1 tsp. vanilla

4 beaten eggs

1/3 c. heavy cream

2/3 c. strong coffee (or water)

4 oz. melted chocolate, unsweetened

1 c. flax meal (I used dark)

2 T. oat fiber

1 tsp. glucomannan powder

¼ c. whey protein, unflavored, unsweetened (I use NOW brand for 1 carb per 1/3 c.)

3/4 tsp. salt (only ½ tsp. if using salted butter above)

1 T. baking powder

½ c. cocoa powder

1 c. chopped walnuts

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 350º.  In large bowl, melt unsweetened chocolate in microwave.  Add the softened butter, erythritol, vanilla, eggs, cream and coffee.  Beat well with electric/hand mixer or whisk until smooth.  In another bowl, mix all dry ingredients and add to batter, along with chopped walnuts and stir well.   Grease 9×13 baking pan and pour batter into pan, spreading evenly.  Bake at 350º for about 30 minutes or until center is done using toothpick test.  When cool, cut into 24 brownies.  If using muffin top pans, fill greased cups 3/4 full (makes 24) and bake only 20 minutes.  Do not over brown.  The pan I used (pictured below) has ¾” deep cups that are 2.5″ square:

Square Muffin Top Pan

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 24 brownies, each containing:

118 calories

9.8 g  fat

6.89 g  carbs

3.85 g  fiber

3.04 g  NET CARBS

4.79 g  protein

64 mg sodium

14 comments on “Brownies

  1. Would you please explain why these “aren’t good until OWL”? At 3.04 net carbs they seem like they would be perfect for induction if you really needed a treat. Even with 1 of these, you could still keep total carbs under 20 for the day. No?


    • Nuts are not allowed until OWL. It’s not about carbs, its about when the ingredients can be added back in after Induction. Plus, oat fiber is from a grain, whi8ch is not allowed until the very last level of the carb reintroduction ladder of Atkins. If you leave those two ingredients out, you can have these in Induction.


  2. Can the Spenda and erythritol be omitted and just use Stevie powder? If so would something need to be added to make up for bulk in the recipe?


    • No need to make up for the bulk, but you’ll have to determine how much stevia. I don’t like baking with stevia alone. I find it bitter when used alone.


  3. Do you have a substitute for either the 2 T. oat fiber or the 1 tsp. glucomannan powder? I would love to make these but don’t have these two ingredients. I do have some psyllium husk powder would that work? Or ground up chia seeds?


    • No, there really isn’t a sub for either one. The oat fiber is there for a “flour-y” flavor; the gluc is there for texture enhancing. Just leave them out if you don’t have them, but the final brownie won’t have quite as nice a texture and the flax flavor will come through more doing that sub. But the brownies “should” cook up OK.


  4. Thank you Peggy for the information on the conversions. I made the brownies but did make a few substitutions because it is hard for me to taste chocolate due to my dry palate. I used 1-1/2 T. liquid stevia for the splenda in your recipe. Instead of all u/s chocolate I used .5 oz. u/s chocolate and one 3.5oz. bar Lindt excellence 70% cocoa bar. Instead of the flax seed, I used ground Chia seed. Chia seed is extremely expensive, and I don’t buy it on a regular basis for just that reason, but I had purchased it awhile ago and was delighted that I could use it in your recipe. I used the full measure of nuts, but next time will either double it or put in 2 more ounces. I love nuts too. The last thing I did was brush the top with 2 T. Amaretto, once it came out of the oven to give it a floral note. The baking time of 30 minutes was spot on for me. The brownies had a good texture, and had a wonderful chocolate fragrance and were perfectly sweet for me.. One brownie with a cup of coffee was a nice little snack for my break. More than one I could not eat; probably all that fiber! I brought them to work, where they were gobbled up! Thank you for the recipe.

    One more question, how do you calculate our nutritional facts?


    • I’m so glad they came out nice for you. I’ve never used chia seed, but plan on testing it one day. I calculate my nutritional info using, which feeds its data off the USDA foods database. I’ve been using for over 2 years now and am comfortable with that one. There are other sites that will do this, but you tend to stick with what you’ve always used. I enter my ingredients and amounts, get totals for the entire recipe and then divide out myself to get the info for one serving. 🙂


  5. I want to try these but I cannot tolerate Splenda. Why do you state that the granular Splenda can be substituted with an equivalent liquid sweetener? I don’t understand the granular sub for a liquid concept. I wonder if I could try xylitol here.


    • Many folks sub in liquid Splenda or liquid stevia so they don’t have to chalk up all the carbs you have in the maltodextrin filler found in the granular. You can use whatever sweetener you prefer. I don’t use ever buy xylitol myself. Xylitol is fatally toxic to dogs, so I’m always afraid I’ll forget something has xylitol in it and drop or forget and share a bite with my pups without thinking. 🙂 Check out my tab for sweetener equivalent information.


  6. Thank you very much for the info. I like the idea of 1/2 recipe because I can’t be trusted with too many of these babies around.
    I had one with a small scoop of Breyer’s carb smart vanilla and I was in heaven.


    • I froze some just to see and they will freeze OK for you. That said, I don’t like to freeze baked goods as they tend to get wet/sticky on the top surface (cookies, brownies and cakes) and sometimes soggy on the bottom upon defrosting. My freezer book actually says do not freeze any baked goods or breads for over a month as they will totally dry out and become an inedible “brick”. And that 4th week is “pushing the envelope” in my opinion. So you might prefer to make a half recipe in a square pan instead, to avoid having to freeze them.


Leave a Comment

