Peggy’s “Flour” Pie crust


This  pie crust is great for baked meat pies, Mexican empanadas and pretty much any dessert pie.   It is somewhere between a “short” crust” and a “flaky” crust.  There is absolutely no “Carbquick taste” in this crust, either, thanks to the oat fiber. :)  This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung of the OWL ladder.   The funny dimples on the bottom seen in the pic are caused by ceramic pastry weights I use for baking all my pie crusts.  Keeps them from creating air pockets and forming a big hump in the middle.  :)  Here’s what they look like if you’re not familiar with them:

Ceramic Pastry Weights


2/3 c. CarbQuick bake mix (substitute Jennifer Eloff’s Gluten-Free Bake Mix for a gluten-free version)

1/3 c. golden flax meal

1/3 c. oat fiber (do not sub oat bran or oat flour, which are higher carb.  But for a gluten-free crust, you’ll have to use oat flour made from Certified 100% gluten-free oats.)

Pinch salt

2 T. cold butter

1 egg

3 T. cream

DIRECTIONS: Preheat oven to 350º.   In a medium mixing bowl, mix all dry crust ingredients together.  Using a pastry cutter or fork, cut in cold butter until the mixture resembles coarse cornmeal.  Add beaten egg and cream and mix well.  Using hand, knead into a ball of dough and place on plastic wrap.  Place another piece of plastic on top and with a rolling pin, roll dough to slightly larger than the size of pan you are using.  Now pull the top plastic off the rolled crust.  Grabbing the bottom plastic, pick up the crust at the midpoint (plastic and all), let it fold gently in the middle and place the fold at the midpoint of your pie/pie plate.  Gently lift the other half of the dough over onto the pie/pie plate and remove the plastic carefully.  Finish crust by folding the excess crust edges inward and crimp decoratively if you wish.  Poke 3-4 holes in the crust with a fork and bake in a 350º oven for about 30-35 minutes or until crust is golden.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 8 servings/slices of pie crust, each serving contains:

76.5 calories

7.53 g  fat

8.83 g  carbs, 7.98 g  fiber, .85 g  NET CARBS

3.3 g  protein

81 mg sodium

22 comments on “Peggy’s “Flour” Pie crust

  1. Thank you for this recipe! My husband loved my pot pie (although I changed it significantly) and said the crust (your recipe exactly) was better than the “real” thing! I didn’t like it quite as much but then I just LOVE regular flour crust so its hard to duplicate. But I’d been craving chicken pot pie for several days and this hit the spot. Thanks!


    • It is indeed hard to duplicate flour crust. But I don’t eat much real flour anymore. Not real good for me. I read WHEAT BELLY, you see. I’m glad you folks like being able to once again have Chicken Pot Pie. If the filling has a good enough taste, the crust on it isn’t as important to me. But I want SOME sort of crust. Not willing to give it up completely.


  2. Buttoni, with this flor pie crust do you have to bake it,can it be frozen first? I want to make mini mock sweetpotate pies, my first attempt fot thanksgiving so I was just wondering, does it have to be par baked befor filling?


    • Mrs. B, I have a long-standing aversion to freezing baked goods as I think they lose much in the freezing. Therefore I often can’t answer the “Can I freeze this?” questions when it comes to baked goods. So I don’t know if this crust freezes well (raw or baked) or not.

      Moreover, if your “mock” S-P pies are made with either pumpkin or winter squash, I would DEFINITELY not freeze them, as those vegetables bleed water when defrosted and your crust will be ruined by that water. I made my Chipotle “Sweet Potatoes” last year ahead and froze and they bled out so mucdh water I was almost embarrassed to serve the dish to my family. Just sayin’ it’s a fact of life with baked pumpkin and winter squashes. Only successfuly way I’ve frozen pumpkin or squash is diffused in a cake, bread or muffins.

      What I would do to avoid the heart-breaking “freezer surprise” is to make and lightly bake (not fully browned) the crust and freeze it empty. Then defrost the crust maybe the day before Thanksgiving and fill and bake it to completion, chilling int eh fridge until Thanksgiving Dinner. That way you’re SURE not to be disappointed🙂.


      • Buttoni,
        Thanks soooo much for that great advice. I also have a question? What is your show-stopping go to chocholate cake recipe, I really want to make a chocolate cake and frosting that will leave peolpe in disbelief and amazed how great low carb surgar free desserts can be.

        And do you know if delicata squash will translate well as “candied yams”, my attempt this year is not to throw low carb out the window for the sake of a food holiday, I’m getting closer to my goal weight and don’t want to sabotage my dedicated months of effort and focus. These holidays tend to throw people ,myself and my husband , off course, it turns into a downward spiral and then before you know it your pushing yourself further from the finish line.

        I also wanted to take this time to let you know my husband and I absolutely love love love your pankcake recipe, it truly saved our weekends, a great breakfast. Your a rock star in our house!!!


        • OMG, you’re gonna give me a big head, MrsB. Glad you guys like the pancakes. I think the delicata will taste too much like squash in a potato dish. What I do in my traditional recipe is use fresh baked pumpkin for 3/4 of the amount and throw just 1 reral sweet potato in for texture and flavor. That comes out REAL nice. All squash will be a good dish, but it won’t be quite like your sweet potato traditional recipe.

          Well, my Black Forest Cake is my Wowser recipe, i’ls a fair amount of trouble and I’m just not as satisfied with my low-carb version as the original….YET. But I do plan to tweak it further. Mostly I want to find a better chocolate mousse for that one. My second best chocolate cake is my Strawberry Chocolate Torte here: It’s much, much easier to make and just about as good……..and ever so pretty.🙂


  3. Peggy,

    I am thinking about making chicken pot pie, small ones in individual ramekins.I have made it with just carbquik, egg, cream water (with just a top crust) but I want a top and bottom crust. This looks like it would work perfectly. Would you suggest baking the bottom crust first, fill then top with unbaked crust?

    The filling will totally cooked before baking.



    • Di, I think the ratio of crust to filling will be top heavy with crust doing a double crust as you can’t roll this dough as thin (and still work with it) conventional crusts. At least I haven’t been able to roll LC crust very thin yet. Mine tore apart the one time when I tried to roll a bottom crust. But if you want to try it, I would definitely pre-cook the bottom crust half-way done, but not brown and THEN fill.


  4. Please disregard my former question about how you got started low carbing–I found it on your “About me” Tab. Right there in front of me–lol– Thank you. These recipes all look terrific. Patricia


    • Yes maam, the hubby has eaten and enjoyed every single dessert or meat pot pie I’ve done with this crust. Until I find one we like better, it’s the only one I make currently.


    • Hi, Georgene! Welcome to the site! I buy my Carbquick from, my flaxmeal at my local Sam’s in the pharmacy dept., or my Walmart foods has just started carrying it in the cereal aisle. I order my oat fiber from, but it’s a big bag and you use little in a recipe, so you might prefer to order a smaller bag from


  5. The one thing I miss at holiday time is French Meat Pie. Our family is French Canadian and the last few years it’s been my one cheat that I allow but I’d really like to try your recipe. I’ve been looking for a lower carb sub for traditional flour pie crust. Meat pies are usually filled unbaked, then covered with a top crust and then baked. Would this recipe work for my family favorite? Thanks, Sue


    • I certainly think so, Sue, if your meat pasties are baked. It has a nice texture and rolls well between sheets of plastic. In fact, I plan on trying oven-baked meat pies with it one day myself! I would have no idea if this pastry would hold up to deep frying your meat pies, but I’m inclined to think not. I have already used this for a large chicken and turkey pie that had only a top crust and it came out great. As a matter of fact, the recipe and pic are posted right here on the site: I suspect if you like to have a bottom crust under a very wet meat filling, it might not cook properly. I’d stick with a top crust only to be safe.


    • It is amazingly like regular pie crust made with flour. But I can’t recommend any substitutions if you want this result. There are lots of other low-carb recipes on the net that use other ingredient combinations, but it’s been my experience that when you use nut meals. flax or coconut flour, the result is crumbly, difficult to form into shape, taste different. They often don’t have the familiar flour taste this recipe does. BTW I order my CQ from

      I have heard this pie-crust recipe, which calls for even more unusual ingredients, is good. Its creator passed away in January, but his cooking talents were truly awe-inspiring. Although I have the listed ingredients, I’ve not tried this one yet but plan to one day:


  6. I just love your new printer feature. Yay!

    I just bought some of those ceramic thingies and will use them the next time I bake a pie. I had never heard of them before this, lol.

    Thanks for the great tips and the even greater recipes!


    • Well, not all pie crusts bubble up in the center, but I’ve had a few do that despite pricking with a fork all over. It can really ruin a pie’s appearance, too. I bought some a few years ago when I stumbled on them in a shop. No pastry bubbles since. 🙂


Leave a Comment

