Bok Choy Soup


Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge


It’s such a brisk day, I felt like having soup for lunch today.  As usual, when I want soup, I open up the fridge and freezer, stare awhile, and decide what bits of this and that I’m going to throw into the pot.  Today, I had a beautiful head of bok choy cabbage I bought yesterday, some Chinese link sausages, ½ cup of leftover chick peas in my freezer,  and an open can of coconut milk in the door of the fridge.  I would definitely use some other kind of meat next time, as I wasn’t so fond of the spices in the Chinese sausages.  They were given to me by a friend recently and I wanted to try them as I’d never eaten them before.  Also, the chick peas got lost in the soup flavorings, so I won’t use them next time.  This came out really good and I will  definitely make it again!  This is a nutrient dense soup, as you can see by the nutritional stats below.  Whatever meat/seafood you decide to add, be sure to add in the nutritional info for it as no meat has been included in the stats below.  This recipe is OK for Induction.  Of course, smaller bowls (more servings) trims the carbs considerably.


1 qt. (4 c.) low sodium chicken broth (I use free-range Pacific in a carton)

1 c. cream

1 c. coconut milk, unsweetened

1 c. water

4 large, outer bok choy leaves, chopped

1 c. green onion, chopped

½ c. red bell pepper, sliced small

1 c. sliced fresh mushrooms (I used dried shitaki, but regular are lower in carbs)

3 T. low sodium soy sauce

1/8 tsp. Aleppo Pepper (or dash cayenne)

1/4 tsp. World Market Thai Spice Blend (mixture of paprika, sesame, coriander, garlic, onion,  cilantro, basil, red pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, dried shrimp)

½ c. Herb Cream Sauce ( I had in my freezer (or use 1 T. ch. parsley+ ½ c. ch. spinach)

xanthan or guar gum to thicken (about ¼-½ total)

OPTIONAL: 1 c. chopped cooked meat/sausage of your choice

DIRECTIONS: Bring the chicken broth and water to a boil in a large soup pot.  Add all other ingredients but the cream and coconut milk.  Reduce to a simmer for 10-15 minutes or until all veggies are done.    Right before serving, add coconut milk and cream and stir well.  As soup simmers, dust xanthan gum lightly over surface several times, stirring well and waiting between dustings to allow it to thicken between additions.  I find it takes about 3-4 light dustings for this amount of soup.  No, I don’t measure the amount of xanthan gum.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 6 large bowls, each containing:  (meat not included)

200 calories

16 g  fat

4.88 g carbs

3.55 g  fiber

1.33 g NET CARBS

6.7 g  protein

613 mg. sodium

Also contains 20% RDA vitamin B6, 9%, B12, 82% C, 15% calcium, 27% copper, 34% Iron, 13% magnesium, 38% manganese, 18% niacin, 23% phosphorous, 21% riboflavin, 13% zinc.

Leave a Comment

