Peggy's Texas Chili


Since chili has to simmer quite awhile for the flavors to blend, I like to make big batches.  This recipe makes 8 large bowls.  The nutritional info is calculated with the can of Eden black soy beans, making the recipe as written unacceptable for Induction.  If you omit the beans and this is perfectly OK for Induction!

I use several different chile peppers in this recipe, but each has a distinctive flavor they bring to the chili, in my opinion.   Of course, you can change the peppers called for herein, if you can’t get some of them, but in doing so, you will definitely change the final flavor.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with  low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

Here are some pics of the peppers I use in my chili:





3 lb. ground beef

4 oz. onion, chopped

6 cloves garlic, minced

2   4 oz. cans chopped green chiles

1  10 oz. can tomatoes with green chiles (I use Rotel mild)

1  14.5 oz. can diced/crushed tomatoes, no-salt

3 c. water

1 T. chili powder (I use ½ Bolners and ½ Chimayo pictured below right)

½ tsp. ancho chili powder (or ¼ dried ancho pepper, seeded, chopped) 

2 tsp. ground cumin

1  dried Guajillo chile pepper, seeded and chopped

1 Serrano pepper, seeded and chopped (or Jalapeno pepper)

2 tomatillos, skin removed and chopped

1 c. cilantro, chopped

1 oz. tomato paste

1  14.5 oz. can Eden Black Soy Beans with liquid (optional)

DIRECTIONS: Over medium-high heat, brown meat and onion in large stew pot.  When done, add all remaining ingredients.  After the chili comes to a boil, reduce fire to low, cover tightly and simmer for 1-2 hours (the longer the better).  Stir often to avoid scorching on the bottom of the pan.

NUTRITIONAL INFO: Makes 8 servings, each contains:  (these numbers include the optional beans)

540 calories

32 g  fat

10.6 g carbs, 4.73 g fiber, 5.87 g NET CARBS (less without the beans)

49.5 g protein

935 mg sodium

22 comments on “Chili

  1. It cracks me up every time I hear someone say that Texas Chili doesn’t have beans an or tomatoes in it. My granddaddy was a true old world cowboy, he did one of the last real cattle drives from South Texas up into Nebraska and I well remember him talking about the food that their “Texan” Cookie served and chili WITH beans was a mainstay on the trail. Tomatoes were added when available.


    • Oh, you just made my day, James. Bless you. 🙂 I get so tired of the gripes about beans and tomatoes. I’m in Texas, Hubs is a Texan and nary a Texan has backed away from a bowl of my chili. LOL


Leave a Comment

