Cheesy Green Beans

Click to enlarge

Cheesy Green Beans

I threw together a green bean dish that came out pretty tasty.  I put some mushrooms in this dish but feel they get lost in the other flavors so I’ll omit those in future. This dish is Induction friendly.  You should use 1 c. total cheese, but you can use whatever cheese you like in this.  I even threw in some sliced fresh mushrooms to the veggies sauteing in the pan when I made the batch for this pic.  They were wasted, however, as I couldn’t even taste them in the final dish. Throw in some cooked ground beef or cooked chicken and it becomes a COMPLETE MEAL!🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.

VARIATIONS:  Add some diced, leftover chicken meat or 1 lb. browned ground beef for a complete meal.


2 can green beans, drained (or 3 c. cooked fresh or frozen)

4 T. butter, melted

4 oz. onion, chopped

4 oz. red bell pepper, chopped

½ c. sour cream

¼ c. heavy cream

Dash each salt, black pepper, garlic powder

¾ c. Cheddar cheese, grated

¼ c. Deluxe American cheese, grated

DIRECTIONS:  Melt butter in non-stick skillet.  Add chopped onion and red pepper and saute until tender.  Turn off heat.  Stir cream into sour cream in a small bowl and add to skillet.  Add beans and seasonings and toss together gently with a spoon.  Top with cheese(s) and bake at 350º for 20 minutes.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 6 servings, each contains:

161 calories

14 g  fat

6.8 g carbs, 1.87 g fiber, 4.93 g  NET CARBS

3.57 g  protein

240 mg sodium

19 comments on “Cheesy Green Beans

  1. Made this and served with grilled lemon rosemary chicken. Loved it. I replaced the red pepper with a few grape tomatoes, colorful and tasty. I think this sauce would be a great match with cooked cauliflower or even cauli-rice. Plan to try that. In fact, it’s a great sauce base for any green veggie. My new favorite. I also like that you bake it which gives me time to work on my protein plus makes for a bubbly brown top that looks as good as it tastes.


  2. As someone else has stated, I too have gmail and can’t seem to email this to myself. I’ve done it twice and have been waiting patiently for it to pop up. Now I’m just frustrated and mad it won’t come to me. ANY IDEAS!


    • CLBD, why don’t you just subscribe to my blog and get every FUTURE recipe direct in your email. For archived recipes, like this bean recipe, that won’t help you. This problem seems to only happen on Gmail. I know nothing about gmail’s setup, but most service providers have spam filters. Perhaps it is being perceived as “spam” or “unsolicited mail” by gmail’s filters? Just a guess, but it does happen sometimes. Why don’t you try this: Add to your “address book” in your email setup (which should turn off any gmail filters screening incoming mail from my site) and try to email it to yourself again. That may resolve the issue. Please come back & let me know if that works so I can recommend that to other Gmail users who report this problem.


    • Yes. I should say that and just changed it in the recipe. I only use heavy whipping cream now. Never buy half and half anymore as it’s too carb-y, like milk. But I should specify in the recipes and do try to most of the time. Can I blame a senior moment? 😉


  3. I love your recipes and make quite a few of them. My question is why every time I try to email a recipe to my gmail address, I NEVER receive it? I’m extremely frustered and would like a reply to this!


    • Hmm. That’s really odd. In nearly 6 years, nobody has mentioned a gmail issue to me. Sorry this has been so frustrating.

      To test the email button/system, I just clicked it myself and emailed this recipe to my own email address at my Yahoo Mail account and it came right into my inbox. It’s clearly a problem with gmail and sadly I know nothing about gmail. It almost sounds as though gmail’s spam filters are catching/blocking them. You might ask their HELP people to see if it is a setting you might need to change on your email account? Just guessing there.

      Perhaps you could just scroll to the bottom of a recipe and use the Print Friendly icon to print it out. If you are trying to save on paper and ink, you can always subscribe to my site over on the right hand side of the page and every new post will come direct to your gmail inbox. On average, that’s one or two a week, rarely more often. But that won’t help for the older archived recipes; only new ones I post are mailed to my subscribers. But that would be a nice option for future recipes and for archived recipes you want to keep, you could just print them with my printer icon. 🙂


    • Try to imagine ground beef in classic holiday green bean casserole. If that sounds good to you, then you’d probably like it. If not, you porbably wouldn’t like it. What you might do is make some meat patties and serve with this one time and see if the flavors are good together. I tend to not like ground beef IN my bean dishes, but often like it WITH them.


Leave a Comment

