Cream of Asparagus Soup

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I’ve been wanting some cream of asparagus soup lately and finally remembered to pick up two cans of asparagus at the store today.  This can also be made with cooked fresh asparagus, but be sure to cook it VERY tender before trying to puree it.  This recipe is Induction friendly and very good with a nice green salad.


2   14-oz cans cut asparagus, with liquid

1 c.  chicken broth

2/3 c. cream

Dash each salt and pepper

DIRECTIONS:  Open and drain asparagus liquid into soup pot.  Place asparagus into food processor or blender and puree until smooth.  Add to the liquid in the pot.  Add chicken broth and bring to a boil.  Lower heat to very low and add cream, salt and pepper.   Cook 2 minutes.  Thicken with several light dustings of xanthan gum, whisking constantly and waiting between dustings to allow it to thicken.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 4 large bowls, each contains:

185.5 calories

15.6 g  fat

6.65 g  carbs, 2.05 g fiber, 4.6 NET CARBS

7 g  protein

1018 mg sodium

30% RDA Vitamin A, 45% C, 32% copper, 20% phosphorous, 23% riboflavin, 28% manganese and 28% niacin

4 comments on “Cream of Asparagus Soup

  1. Hi Peggy,

    Thanks so much for the guidance with this. Your website is so very lovely, I have enjoyed looking it over since I have recently found it. I am going to try and make the Chicken Shawarma and Naan Bread tonight for our supper…it looks delicious and low carb!
    We have had a bit of a warm snap (I live in Ontario) and so I have been out poking around in my garden. Still about a foot of snow covering most of it but by the end of this week it might be gone. And then comes the rhubarb and asparagus…!


    • Glad you’re enjoying the recipes, Pearl. My, I’m in central Texas. I haven’t seen a foot of snow since I lived in Kansas in high school 40 years ago. I kinda miss snow, actually.🙂 Have a great day in the kitchen and garden, Pearl!


  2. If you would make this with fresh asparagus (Spring and the Asparagus will soon be here) how much would you recommend. Also, added liquid (water?) to compensate for liquid in the canned asparagus.

    Thanks muchly!


    • Welcome to the site, Pearl! My grandmother’s name was Pearl. I always thought it a lovely name. 🙂 Gee, I’ve always used the canned for this. But if I were going to guess………for a standard size bunch of asparagus I would use 1 cup water for steaming/boiling to replace the liquid from canned asparagus, as it will have extra flavor. Then use the full cup of chicken broth called for. I would then add the cream slowly, a little at a time, allowing it to thicken up naturally and tasting along the way. Less cream may be in order with that much water/broth. If it is too thin, you could thicken it up with your favorite thickener. I tend to use xanthan gum but am going to begin experimenting with glucomannan powder soon as a thickener, for the added fiber value it has.


Leave a Comment

