Turnip-Bacon Quiche

Click to enlarge

Turnip-Bacon Quiche

Ever since starting my low-carb journey, I never cease to be amazed at how many fun things you can put into a crustless breakfast quiche and end up with a MUCH tastier result than expected when starting out.  And often much better than my doubting husband, picky eater that he is, likes to admit.   :)  This morning when I opened up the refrigerator, I saw I had one turnip smiling up at me, right on the front of the shelf, and it seemed to be saying “Eat me, Eat me”.   A visual image of  the talking plant, Audrey, in the campy musical “Little Shop of Horrors” came to mind.  :)    Thought I’d accommodate the little guy!  :)  This was very much like a hash brown and bacon quiche!  No turnip taste at all.  Really tasted like potatoes were in this! This recipe is Induction friendly.

More delicious low-carb breakfast ideas can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


3 eggs, beaten

2 oz. onion, chopped

4 slices bacon, coarsely chopped

1 small turnip, peeled and grated (about 2-2½ oz.)

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.   In a non-stick skillet, cook bacon over med-high heat until nearly done.  Add onion to the residual grease and saute until union is softening a bit.  Add grated turnip and saute, stirring often until it is tender.  Beat eggs and evenly pour over flavor ingredients and pop into preheated 350º oven for about 15 minutes or until set in the center.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 2 servings, each contains:

259 calories

18.9 g  fat

5.7 g  carbs, 2 g  fiber, 3.7 g  NET CARBS

16.35 g protein

545 mg. sodium

49% RDA vitamin B12, 21% copper, 22% iron, 36% phosphorous, 38% riboflavin, 63% selenium, 20% zinc, and 315 mg potassium

12 comments on “Turnip-Bacon Quiche

  1. Depending on where in the country you are, turnips are small, round, white w/ purple tops….Or, the larger cousin the rutabaga, which is yellowish w/ a purple top. Please. Which did you use?


    • Welcome, Melissa. Turnips and rutabagas are not the same thing. Size or geographic location doesn’t change their nature. I use turnips in this, whose interior flesh is pure white and whose skin is extremely thin. The outer skin can vary from white to dark. It’s white and purple where I buy them, but not always. Rutabagas have yellow interior flesh and their outer skin is very thick and tough, but always darker. Sometimes the outer appearance (color, shape and size) ressembles turnips, making it confusing. Look at the SKIN and I think you can tell the difference. If it’s paper thin, it’s a turnip; if thick it’s a rutabaga. But the grocery store SHOULD be signing them correctly.


    • Welcome, Bikergranny. So glad you stumbled upon my website. Been up and running 5+ years now and have a lot of comfort food recipes converted to low-carb here; also lots of more exotic-tasting ethnic recipes. My husband and I love foreign foods so I like to dabble there a lot. Visit often, as I am hopelessly addicted to cooking and good food…..adding new recipes all the time. Been recovering from some major surgery during the holidays, so the recipe posts have dwindled. But I’ll get my pace back up to speed in the new year. So stick around. 🙂


  2. I’m having this for lunch right now. It’s really wonderful. I added a small dollop of sour cream on top. I will definitely be making this again.


Leave a Comment

