Spicy Tuna Pâté

Spiced Up Tuna Pâté

Spicy Tuna Pâté

This is a variation on the Atkins Italian Tuna Pâté recipe in the book Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution.  This wonderful spread is , I do believe, what got me through Induction.  I have since modified the recipe a bit and think it is even better than the original.  This is very good on flax-Parmesan crackers or I sometimes dip celery or carrot sticks into it.  I suspect it would be good served on cucumber slices with a small black olive on top for parties.  :)  This dish is Induction friendly, for certain!  Sometimes I like to add 8-10 pitted black olives during the blending, but that is not included in the nutritional info below.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1   6.5 oz foil pouch oil-pack tuna (if using canned, the 5 oz. can will do fine)

1 stick butter, unsalted, softened (4 oz.)

½ c. chopped parsley

1 tsp. fresh lime juice

¼ tsp. onion powder

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper (more if you’re adventurous) or ¼ tsp. my Seafood Spice Blend

DIRECTIONS:   Combine all ingredients in the bowl of a food processor or blender and pulse until well mixed.  Garnish with a sprinkle more of the spice blend.  Serve with celery sticks or flax crackers.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings.  ¼ batch contains:

286 calories

26.3 g  fat

1.0 g  carbs, .25 g  fiber, .75 NET CARBS

12 g  protein

149 mg sodium


12 comments on “Spicy Tuna Pâté

  1. I do something similar in the food processor but rather than butte,r I add cream cheese and a dash of liquid smoke. It is like the smoked fish dip you get all over the gulf coast. Delicious.


    • Yes, and I’m hopelessly addicted to this stuff. Think of it like a cream cheese-type spread, not like tuna salad. Trust me, it’s delish! My husband wolfs it down as fast as I do, and he backs off a lot of low-carb foods.


  2. 6.5-ounce cans don’t exist anymore. Imported tuna in olive oil usually comes in a 3.5-ounce can. Most commercial tuna is now in 5-ounce cans. Can you adjust?


    • Just make it with a 5 oz. can then. That’s not an appreciable difference IMO. I buy the foil pouches of tuna now. Haven’t bought the cans in ages and forgot they sized them down a few years back. Telling my age, because they were 6.5 oz. when I was growing up and most of my adult life.


Leave a Comment

