Chicken Pesto Sun-Dried Tomato Pizza

Chicken Pesto Sun-Dried Tomato Pizza

Chicken Pesto Sun-Dried Tomato Pizza

This was inspired by a recipe I read on the net for a pasta dish made with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.  Thought that mixture might make a good pizza and IT DID!  The chicken I added just made it even better! In future, would prefer to use Josephs Flax and Oat Bran Pitas for the crust for this.  It only has 4 net carbs per loaf.  But I don’t have those on hand, so I substituted a slice of Peggy’s Low Carb Bread, sliced thinly (in the photo).  Worked fine and you COULD pick it up and eat it with your hands.  But I know this would be better on the Joseph’s, which has some flour product in it, so that would make this not acceptable until the grains rung of OWL.  Using my low-carb flax bread at the above link, you folks on Induction could have this. But be aware it only lowers the serving net carbs by about 2.5 net carbs.   Please bear in mind, if you serve this with a nice green salad, one pizza would likely serve TWO people and not just one.  That would be a great way to cut the net carb count on this meal.  Another way to cut the net carb count by 2 NC would be to take a knife and open up the pita bread into its two parts and only use ½ the loaf for your pizza.  If you do that, be sure to bake long enough to crisp it up or you won’t be able to pick it up and eat it with your hands.

VARIATION:  Substitute 6 oz. cooked, crumbled Italian Sausage for the chicken.  

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


2 loaves Joseph’s Flax & Oat Bran Pitas

1 T. olive oil

3 oz. onion, chopped

6 oz. chicken breast, skinless, slivered in very small pieces

2 T. sun-dried tomatoes (the kind in a jar packed in olive oil), chopped

2 T. my pesto sauce (or use commercial pesto sauce)

Pinch oregano

4 oz. mozzarella cheese, grated

4 T. Parmesan cheese, grated

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Heat olive oil in non-stick skillet.  Saute onion until tender.  Add chicken and saute until completely done.  Remove from heat.  Add pesto, sun-dried tomatoes and oregano.  Stir well.  Place “crusts” on a no-stick baking sheet.  Sprinkle 1 oz. of the mozzarella on each pizza.  Evenly spread the chicken mixture on top.  Sprinkle the remaining mozzarella over the chicken mixture and top with an even distribution of the grated Parmesan.  Pop into a 350º oven for about 15-20 minutes to melt cheese and blend flavors.  Serve at once.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 2 individual pizzas, each contains:

653 calories

44.3 g  fat

19.1 g  carbs, 4.8 g  fiber, 14.3 NET CARBS (less if you use a homemade low carb bread, divide the pitas into thinner slices or reduce/omit the sun-dried tomatoes)

50.6 g  protein

1185 mg sodium (mostly from the cheese)


5 comments on “Chicken Pesto Sun-Dried Tomato Pizza

    • I don’t either, Bill. And I use low-carb bread instead of Jose[phs most of the time. Did you notice my remarks in the recipe narrative and in the stats that not using the commercial bread would lower carbs? Just use a low carb bread instead to pull that number much lower. That’s what I, too, prefer to use. But this recipe was written for the “lazy” low carbers out there that want it quick when they don’t have any LC bread baked. There are lots of those folks out there for whom speed is more important some days than lowest carbs possible. We’ve all been there occasionally. Plus sun-dried tomatoes are quite high in carbs and reducing (or eliminating) them will pull the count down a lot here, too. 🙂


  1. Hi I just found your site and I love it.. thanks for the great recipes..
    I never tried Joseph’s Flax & Oat Bran Pitas how do u keep them do u freeze or keep out and how long do they keep? Do u recommend their other products? I live oversea and was thinking of shipping them to a friend to bring back w them.. thanks dear:)


    • Welcome to my site, Hanadi. Glad you’re enjoying browsing through the recipes. I have well over 400 now on the site.

      I think that particular Joseph’s product is their lowest carb product and is flavorful. I would recommend it for any pita uses, provided you’re to the grains rung of OWL already and tolerate the occasional grains indulgence. But I haven’t tried their other products yet, so I can’t speak to those. Some say the Joseph’s lavash flatbread is good. Breads as a general rule do not freeze well. They should never be frozen over 2-3 weeks really. So I just buy what I think I can use in 7-10 days, which is 1 package at a time as there are only two of us.

      Some low-carb breads are too sweet for me, like the FLATOUT bread. I just don’t like that one. It is too way sweet, as well as being too moist (it’s actually damp to the touch, somewhat sticky, and spoils quickly in my opinion.


Leave a Comment

