Chinese Sausage-Jicama Salad

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

Our best friends in Dallas recently visited and brought me some Chinese Sausage.  Well, I’ve not had it in years.  Tonight I made a tasty little salad with it and thought I’d share.  I actually had this as a main course and it was VERY filling.  But I always find jicama to be filling, so I wasn’t surprised.  This is not a sausage I would indulge in often, as it has 5 carbs, but one link in my salad didn’t hurt me, as I’d planned the rest of the day’s food around having this for dinner.  This dish is Induction friendly provided you can fit the carbs into your day’s tally.


1 link Chinese sausage, available in  Asian markets and some specialty grocery stores

3 oz. jicama, sliced into small fries size 3/4″ long

1 oz. carrot, sliced thin

1 green onion, cut into ½” pieces

½ medium jalapeno, seeded & slivered very thinly in strips

2 medium radishes, sliced thin

½ clove garlic, minced

1½ tsp. soy sauce

1 tsp. peanut butter (I use crunchy)   

1½ T. sesame oil

1 tsp. rice vinegar

½ Chinese chile sauce (I use Sambal Oelek available at many grocery stores with the Chinese Food)

DIRECTIONS:    Slice sausage and cook in a little water until water evaporates and sausage is beginning to brown. Set aside while you put the salad together.  Mix all vegetables in a large bowl.  Mix the last 5 ingredients in a small bowl and pour over salad veggies.  Add sausage and stir to coat all well.   Serve at once or chill if you need to wait on serving..

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 1 large dinner entree serving which contains:

524 calories

44.9 g  fat

20.1 g  carbs, 6.4 g  fiber, 13.7 NET CARBS

12 g  protein

1036 mg sodium

36% RDA Vitamin A, 11% B6, 38% C, 16% iron, 12% manganese, 344 mg potassium

Leave a Comment

