Flax Parmesan Crackers

Click to enlarge

Flax Parmesan Crackers

Most of us low-carbers have tried many different versions of the flax-Parmesan crackers that are acceptable during the Induction phase of Atkins.  But I have always found them way to salty, too cheesy, and frankly I don’t like garlic powder in crackers much. So below is a lighter version for me.  Quite a bit less salty, because I not only drop the salt from the traditional recipe, but I cut the Parmesan a bit to reduce saltiness even further, as well as the cheese’s overall flavor dominance.  I think this cracker is now a bit more “neutral”.  :)  I also cook them slower than the original recipe, because flax tends to burn (particularly around the edges) REAL FAST!!  So do watch these, as ovens vary.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 c. flax meal (I use a mixture of dark and golden)

3/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese (which provides all the salt you’ll need in these)

1 tsp. onion powder

1/4 tsp. cayenne or black pepper  (I like cayenne best)

½ c. water

DIRECTIONS:    Preheat oven to 350º.  Line the bottom of a 13×15 baking sheet (with sides) with parchment paper and set aside.  In a mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients well with a wooden spoon.  Add water and stir to blend until all ingredients are moistened with the water.  Break up or crumble the dough onto the parchment paper evenly.  I use plastic gloves, but covering your hands with sandwich baggies will work.  Press the dough evenly over the paper to fill the pan.  I know it will seem like there’s not enough dough to reach the edges and it will seem very thin, this dough.  But trust me, it WILL reach the edges of the pan if you are patient and diligent with your pressing.  Smooth the dough until there are no holes or gaps in it throughout the entire sheet.  Check for places places where it may be thicker and smooth them out.  You  want this as even and thin throughout as possible.  If you want, you can cover the dough with plastic wrap and roll a smooth/straight-sided glass or rolling pin over it for a smoother surface, but I personally don’t bother with that.  Score the dough gently with a knife into 64 crackers (8×8).  This is done best by pressing the knife into the dough and gently lifting it straight up repeatedly.  I you drag the blade too fast through the dough, or back and forth, that will tear the dough up.

Bake at 350º for about 15 minutes.  Check often.  The outside crackers will brown much faster, so I actually check at about 10 minutes and remove them to a platter just as soon as they are lightly browned.  Over browned flax can taste burnt.  Then I  put the pan back in the oven for the rest to finish browning.  I burned a batch once, so I learned my lesson.  If necessary, remove the new outer row as soon as it’s through browning in a similar manner.  Pop the center crackers back in the oven to finish browning.  When all crackers are done, turn the oven off, return all of the crackers to the the pan and set it back in the cooling down oven to “crisp up” to their ultimate crispness.  If you go to this extra step up front, they stay crisp for days and days in a ziploc bag.  When I don’t go to this trouble, they soften up on me and I have to go back and re-crisp them in the oven 2 or 3 days later.    Just my experience with them.    No need to, in fact please DO NOT refrigerate these or they will lose their crispness.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 64 crackers, each contains:

14.73 calories

1.09 g  fat

.61 g  carbs, .49 g  fiber, .12 g  NET CARBS

.12 g  protein

18.58 mg sodium

8 comments on “Flax Parmesan Crackers

  1. These are so awesome thank you so much for the recipe took them to work and everyone loved them. And one of my coworkers suggested instead of chess use cocoa powder and unsweetened chocolate so I did. I used same amountil of flax seed and water. Added 3.5 square of bakers chocolate 3 table spoon of cocoa and use parchment paper on top and bottom to flatten out as they can be a bit sticky. So good can you say chocolate addiction.


  2. WOW….. i just made these with parmesan and white cheddar popcorn seasoning….DELICIOUS!!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU A MILLION TIMES OVER!!! i thought my crackers days were long gone! thanks so much, can’t wait to try other flavors!!!


  3. I make this for myself and love them. Crackers were the one thing I really missed when I went low carb. I took some over to my parents’ place last weekend and now I will be making more for them for Christmas! Same with the foccaccia bread. Thanks for the recipes.


Leave a Comment

