Swai Filet in a Tuna Pesto Blanket

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I’ve found yet another nice use for my Tuna Pâté, my go to snack of choice with celery sticks; and my Pesto Sauce, which I like to keep on hand at all times for a variety of uses.  In my protein weekly rotations, today was fish day so I made this for lunch and it was VERY filling and quite tasty.  I served it with a side of butter sauteed zucchini noodles, which were very good with it.


1  6-ounce Swai filet (tilapia, sole or flounder would also do nicely)

1/8 batch of my Tuna Pâté:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/peggys-tuna-pate/

1 T. my Pesto Sauce:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/pesto-sauce/

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat broiler.  Either line an individual serving plate with foil, or grease a non-stick baking pan.  Lay fish onto foil/pan.  Spread about 2T. Tuna Pâté on top leaving the edges of the filet exposed.  Using a spoon, now drizzle 1 T. Pesto Sauce in a line down the center of the tuna coating.  If it dribbles down the sides of the fish, do not worry.  As the fish broils, the oil in the pesto and the butter in the pâté melt down to baste the fish.  Broil for about 15 minutes.  When done, either drain off the oil/butter in the dish.  Using a wide spatula, lift the filet out of the pan and onto the plate or serving serving platter.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 1 serving which contains:

342 calories

24.1 g  fat

1.2 g  carbs, .5 g  fiber, .7 g  NET CARBS

27.6 g  protein

953 mg sodium

10% RDA Vitamin A, 48% B12, 26% niacin, 35% selenium, 97% phosphorous

2 comments on “Swai Filet in a Tuna Pesto Blanket

  1. Sounds like a good recipe but PLEASE do not use SWAI. Use American produced catfish. Swai is a river-farmed fish, similar to catfish, imported from Southeast Asia, mainly the Mekong Delta area of Viet Nam. With many commercial catfish farmers going out of business due to imports it is imperative that we used good produced in the U.S. whenever we can. There are also far fewer regulations and safeguards on the production of these imported varieties. Please think before you buy.


    • Thanks for the word of caution, Don. I’m familiar with how and where they’re produced. But my only two local grocery stores offer little else. My husband and I do try to buy American for everything. He won’t own a foreign car or have a foreign TV in the house! That said, I would not be willing to use catfish, a very distinctive flavored fish, in many of my seafood recipes, including this one. I prefer a milder fish, like tilapia, flounder, sole or swai, for some recipes. Catfish is great for a frying fish, but I don’t want it baked or broiled, at all. And the few times I’ve bought it in my grocery stores in 3 different cities, it was NOT very good (and I happen to LOVE catfish! :)). To be frank, I have to buy what seafood is available, and in my mid-sized town in Central Texas, that’s a pretty pitiful offering. I got very spoiled when I lived in the Galveston/Texas City area (nearly 30 years) and could get all the fresh seafood I wanted. Not the case since moving more inland. But FWIW, I concur as a rule with your BUY AMERICAN position. But American suppliers need to offer GOOD TASTING catfish to grocers if they hope to ever capture my dollars. Restaurants have VERY good catfish, but what is sold in most grocery stores is just not good IMHO. Just sayin’.


Leave a Comment

