Flax-Sesame Crackers

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

I have discovered I am so salt sensitive, I’m having to virtually eliminate the salt and greatly reduce the cheese in my cracker recipe.  These are not acceptable for Induction unless you omit the sesame seeds.  Below is my lighter, blander version that I am going to have to use from now on if I ever want to get to my  goal weight.  I not only drop the salt from the traditional recipe, but I cut the Parmesan 90% to reduce saltiness even further.  My crackers will now be more “neutral” in flavor and impact on my body’s water balance.     Flax tends to burn (particularly around the edges) REAL FAST!!  So do watch these, as ovens vary.  Sometimes I like to crumble a chicken or beef bouillon cube into the dry ingredients of my crackers for a bit of a flavor twist, but I omit any salt in the recipe if I do.  For a milder cracker, sometimes I reduce the flax meal 2-3 tablespoons and substitute in 2-3 T. almond meal.  Both methods are good.  If you omit the sesame seeds, these crackers are suitable for Atkins Induction.


1½ c. flax meal (I use a mixture of dark and golden)

1 T. grated Parmesan cheese

1½ tsp. onion powder

1/2 tsp. cayenne or black pepper  (I like cayenne best; my husband likes black best)

¼ c. sesame seeds  (omit if still on Induction)

¼ tsp. salt

½ c. water

DIRECTIONS:    Preheat oven to 350º.  Line the bottom of a 12×17 cookie pan (with sides) with parchment paper and set aside.  In a mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients well with a wooden spoon.  Add water and stir to blend until all ingredients are moistened with the water.  Break up or crumble the dough onto the parchment paper evenly.  I use plastic gloves, but covering your hands with sandwich baggies will work.  Press the dough evenly over the paper to fill the pan.  I know it will seem like there’s not enough dough to reach the edges and it will seem very thin, this dough.  But trust me, it WILL reach the edges of the pan if you are patient and diligent with your pressing.  Smooth the dough until there are no holes or gaps in it throughout the entire sheet.  Check for places places where it may be thicker and smooth them out.  You  want this as even and thin throughout as possible.  If you want, you can cover the dough with plastic wrap and roll a smooth/straight-sided glass or rolling pin over it for a smoother surface, but I personally don’t bother with that.  Score the dough gently with a knife into 64 crackers (8×8).  This is done best by pressing the knife into the dough and gently lifting it straight up repeatedly.  I you drag the blade too fast through the dough, or back and forth, that will tear the dough up.

Bake at 350º for about 10 minutes.  Check often as flax burns easily.  The outside crackers will brown much faster, so I actually check at about 10 minutes and every 5 minutes thereafter to remove the outer ones to a platter as they brown.  Then I  put the pan back in the oven for the rest to finish browning.  I burned my first batch of flax crackers, so I learned my lesson.  Pop the remaining crackers back in the oven to finish browning.  When all crackers are done, turn the oven off, return all of the crackers to the the pan and set it back in the cooling down oven to “crisp up” to their ultimate crispness.  If you go to this extra step, they stay crisp for days and days in a ziploc bag.  When I don’t go to this trouble, they soften up on me and I have to go back and re-crisp them in the oven 2 or 3 days later.    Just my experience.   Store in a ziploc bag or airtight container.  DO NOT refrigerate or they will lose their crispness.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 64 crackers, each contains:

18.1 calories

1.43 g  fat

.98 g  carbs, .84 g  fiber, .14 g NET CARBS

6.65 g protein

11.5 mg sodium

Leave a Comment

