Turmeric Seared Eggplant Patties

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

When my Dad was stationed in Teheran, Iran we had a maid who was quite a cook.  She would often fix this eggplant for my brother and I when Mom and Dad were going out to dinner and we couldn’t go.   I became quite enamored of eggplant in Iran.  The subtle taste of eggplant with turmeric is divine.  I don’t know what all spices she sprinkled on it, but I know she put turmeric, because it always turned a bit yellow when cooked.   For this recipe, I’ve also added a bit of my Middle Eastern shawarma spice blend and it was quite good on it.  Also very similar to what I remember.  When you’re 62, it’s hard to remember back to age 10!  But I remember those flavors and smells vividly.  :)    This recipe is definitely Induction friendly.

I like to use a large eggplant for this and take my slices from the center where they will be largest.


12 oz. eggplant (unpeeled), cut into four ½”-5/8″ slices

2 T. olive oil

¼ tsp. ground turmeric

1/8 tsp. my Shawarma Spice Blend:  https://buttoni.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/chicken-shawarma-spice-blend/

Light sprinkle of salt

DIRECTIONS:  Slice eggplant into 4 thick ½”-5/8″ slices.  I usually take the slices from the fatest, center of the eggplant so they will be larger.  Makes for nicer presentation in my opinion.  Heat olive oil in non-stick skillet over me-high heat.  Sprinkle each side of the eggplant slices with turmeric, shawarma spice and salt.  Saute the eggplant until lightly browned; flip over and saute second side as well.  cook just until beginning to get tender in center (but not falling apart).  This should take about 3-4 minutes on a side.  Serve alongside any of your favorite Middle Eastern foods.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 slices/servings, each contains:

80.8 calories

6.93 g  fat

4.98 g  carbs, 2.93 g  fiber, 2.05 g  NET CARBS

.88 g  protein

11.6 mg sodium

6 comments on “Turmeric Seared Eggplant Patties

  1. ohmigoodness Buitoni!!! You just dislodged a memory of living in the middle east, lol! except that we used beaten egg, added turmeric and then fried it in olive oil. It was meant to be eaten as is, but I liked it with a slice of cheese in a sandwich, lol .. it was even good cold ..


    • I won’t tell Button, my rat terrier, you spelled her nickname wrong. My website is named after her. She taste tests everything on the site. 🙂 . Your spelling is the name of the well-known brand of Italian PASTA. And I suspect it’s sacrilegious to refer to real pasta on a low-carb website? LOLOLOLOLOL. Just kidding with ya.

      I’ve done the eggplant in an egg wash before, too. I’ve also got a recipe on the site for a mayo/spicy pork rind crumb coating that’s super. I just love eggplant just about ANY way you cook it!! And I’ve even done your eggplant “sandwiches” with a slice of cheese in-between. Mmmmm. Glad I could send you on a nostalgia trip today. 🙂


    • Maybe, but to keep it Middle Eastern, I’d use feta or kasseri if you do. Any other cheese would probably not be as good with those particular spices, Karen.


Leave a Comment

