Turkey Poblano “Chalupas”

Click to enlarge

I roasted a lovely turkey breast this week and have been trying to create new turkey recipes for my site as I don’t have very many and people are always asking for ways to use up leftover turkey after the holidays.  This one got TWO thumbs up from my husband as well as myself tonight!  It was amazingly simple and was ready in well under an hour total.  The example pictured has ¼ c. Eden Black Soy beans added, because my husband really wanted beans in his.  And if you’re to the legumes rung of the OWL ladder, GO FOR IT!  I made mine without beans, as I’m really trying not to eat OWL foods for awhile to break a profound stall.   This recipe is only Induction friendly if you don’t put those beans in it.  But I tell ya, I didn’t mind not having them in mine at all.  This was GREAT without beans.  You could also use chicken meat or even ground beef in this recipe. 🙂


2 large poblano peppers, seeded (6-6½” long, 3.5 oz. each after stemming)

1 T. olive oil

8 oz. cooked, turkey breast meat

2 oz. onion, chopped or slivered

4 slices American cheese

4 oz. Cheddar cheese, grated

¼ tsp. ground cumin

½ tsp. chili powder

¼ c. cilantro, chopped

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Cut up turkey meat and set aside.  Cut peppers in half lengthwise, removing any ribs with their seeds.  Over med-high heat, in non-stick skillet heat the olive oil and sear the pepper halves on both sides, pressing them down with a spatula.  This takes any “hotness” out of them.  If you prefer, you can roast them in the oven, but these days, in Texas triple digit heat, I don’t like to keep the oven on that long.  Remove peppers to a large oiled baking pan cut side up and set aside for now.  In the same skillet you seared the peppers in, add the onion and saute until nearly tender.  Add turkey meat, cumin, chili powder and cilantro.  Saute 1-2 more minutes, stirring several times.  Lower heat and lay the 4 slices of American cheese on top and stir in into the turkey until it melts and turn off heat.    If using the soy beans, spoon ¼ c. evenly onto each pepper half first.  Next, spoon ¼ of the turkey mixture evenly on top.  Sprinkle the tops with the grated cheddar.  Pop into a preheated 350º oven for 15-20 minutes, just long enough to melt the Cheddar cheese.    This was delicious with a small guacamole salad on the side.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 4 servings, each contains:

357 calories

23.85 g  fat

6.53 g  carbs, 1.13 g  fiber, 5.4 g  NET CARBS

28.78 g protein

651.3 mg sodium

9 comments on “Turkey Poblano “Chalupas”

  1. These came out really well – even w/o beans. Our family loved them. I didn’t try, but I will probably try baking them on non-stick aluminum foil next time – perhaps even sprayed with a little spray oil.

    Also – maybe I am missing something when I read directions (??) — how much olive oil do you recommend using when searing poblano halves? My cast iron skillet worked well with this process.


    • Jonika, quoting from the directions: Remove peppers to a large oiled baking pan cut side up and set aside for now……………….spoon ¼ of the turkey mixture evenly on top

      So it’s peppers on the bottom, then beans (if using), then turkey mixture, and finally the grated cheddar on top.🙂 The pepper serves as the mock “corn tortilla” traditionally used for making chalupas.


    • Thanks for stopping by, Gale. Hope you like this. I’m not crazy about most turkey re-inventions but this one I really DID like.


  2. Peggy
    I have a technical question: How exactly do you place the pepper in regards to the turkey meat? Do you place the meat on top of the peppers? Or the opposite way?

    Thanks for the clarification.🙂
    I have my home-grown peppers and Organic turkey so I am ready to try this recipe.


  3. Thank you so much for this recipe Peggy. I am moving up to the legumes rung soon and would really like to try this. I’ve been checking out labels and legumes are so high in net carbs. Thank you for the advice on the black soy beans working well on this recipe. After looking up the carb content I have finally found a legume to try first.


    • Hope you like this. It was very good without beans. BTW, those black soy beans (not the same thing as black beans) are also good in chili and other recipes that call for pinto or kidney beans.


Leave a Comment

