Pumpernickel “Rye” Bread

Click to enlarge

Pumpernickel Rye Bread

These were super tasty hot from the oven with butter.  Was originally going to slice it as for a sandwich.  But decided to cut into triangles and butter like rolls.  Next time I’m going to do these in my round or square muffin pan!  Will post a new pic when I do.  If you don’t like rye bread, just leave out the caraway seed and you have plain Pumpernickel!  This recipe is not suitable technically until the grains rung of OWL.  But oat fiber has 26 g. carbs per 1/3 cup and 26g. fiber, so even with nutrition info rounding, it’s <1g. of carbs per 1/3 c.  And I use very little in a recipe.  The amount per serving is often miniscule, in fact.  As a virtual wash on carbs, I doubt you would have to wait until the grains rung of OWL to try these.  But test and see if it starts cravings or causes gains.  It hasn’t for me.  🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection

INGREDIENTS:

¼ c. + 1 T. DARK flax meal

1 T. melted butter

2 T. sour cream

1 egg

½ tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. oat fiber

½ tsp. caraway seed

1 square (14.3 g) 100% cacao unsweetened chocolate (or 90% Lindt chocolate)

1 T. brewed coffee

½ tsp. freeze-dried coffee crystals (optional, but enhances flavor)

DIRECTIONS:  Melt chocolate and butter in microwave.  Place in food processor.  Dissolve coffee crystals in the brewed coffee and add. Add sour cream and beaten egg.and pulse to blend.  Add all dry ingredients and pulse a few times to mix.  Either dip into 4 greased ramekins, 4 microwave safe muffin cups  or if using as sliced bread, dip batter into square or round small glass baking dish container.  Cook on HI for 1 minute 10 seconds or until center is dry to the touch.   Cool a moment and tip out onto cutting board.  Slice laterally if using for a sandwich.   Serve hot rolls  at once with butter.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  If using for a single sandwich, the whole recipe is a serving and has 690 calories, 63.5 g fat, 20.1 carbs, 13.5 g  fiber, 6.6 g net carbs, 20.9 g protein.  To lower the counts, use only half the recipe for each sandwich and shape/slice accordingly.

If using as dinner rolls, this recipe makes 4 small rolls, each contains 172.5 calories, 16 g fat, 5.03 g carbs, 3.38 g fiber, 2.65 g NET CARBS, 5.23 g  protein

16 comments on “Pumpernickel “Rye” Bread

    • Welcome to my website! On Atkins, Phase two of the diet is called Ongoing Weight Loss, abbreviated to OWL. That’s the phase in which you slowly over weeks and months start to re-introduce carbs and there is a specified order you have to do it in. That order is called the carb ladder, with the carbiest vegetables and foods on the very top rung of that ladder (grains and high-carb vegetables) are not allowed until you are nearly at goal weight.

      Like

  1. hey peggy! i just bought some golden flax from iherb and wonder if it would just turn out lighter, with no other defferences in texture/flavour etc?

    Like

    • There will be some change in flavor, Tracy, but not in a major way. The dark flax is nuttier tasting. I just can’t describe the flavor of the golden really. It’s milder, but somewhat different to me from the darker flax. But you could try one recipe with the light. You might LIKE it! 🙂

      Like

  2. I can’t see how the ingredients could turn into a bread dough?? And you call this Pumpernickel Rye Bread and there is no rye in it…. In fact the only dry ingredients are the 1/4 cup flax meal, baking powder, 2 tsp of oat fibre and the caraway seeds (which I would omit) Something has to be missing from this recipe.

    ¼ c. + 1 T. DARK flax meal

    1 T. melted butter

    2 T. sour cream

    1 egg

    ½ tsp. baking powder

    2 tsp. oat fiber

    ½ tsp. caraway seed

    1 square (14.3 g) 100% cacao unsweetened chocolate (or 90% Lindt chocolate)

    1 T. brewed coffee

    ½ tsp. freeze-dried coffee crystals (optional, but enhances flavor)

    Like

    • Nothing is missing from the recipe, Lois. Flax, oat fiber and chocolate function as flour here. You sound a little sarcastic with your “rye” comments. I have gone into the name of this bread and added quotations marks around the word. But I’m human and don’t always remember. But perhaps you shouldn’t take a recipe name so seriously. Many recipe creators don’t bother doing that. 🙂

      Like

  3. What an interesting recipe Peggy. I have problems with flax, will try it with almond meal from TJ’s. I, too, cook all our meals and bake one day a week. It’s creative and keeps us healthy.

    Like

    • I’d be curious to know how it comes out with almond for the flax meal. I fear you’ll get a less soft bread, and one that won’t have that earthy, nutty, seed taste of flax. But hey, low-carb baking is just a science experiment IMHO, so it’s worth trying one time to find out. 🙂

      Like

  4. I’m relatively new to the LC lifestyle and just discovered your blog. I’m thinking this could be the base for a killer reuben sandwich. But, what is oat fiber and what are coffee crystals? Also, where do you find dark flax meal? Thanks for any help.

    Like

    • Yes, this would make a good Reuben, I suspect. Coffee crystals are freeze-dried instant coffee crystals. They are essential to the flavor in rye bread. Most recipes call for some coffee.

      Oat fiber comes from the husk of oats and you’ll have to buy on-line from netrition.com or honeyvillegrains.com. I’ve never seen it elsewhere. 96% fiber, so it’s almost a carb wash. It really helps with texture and to pull carb counts down with all its fiber.

      Dark flax is the more readily available variety. I can buy it in boxes at my local Walmart. the golden flax is a bit pricier and I can find it at Walmart (but with the cereals) in bags now. Used to have to buy it at Sam’s Club in the pharmacy/supplement area. The dark is nuttier tasting; the golden is milder and less noticeable in lighter, yellow/white cakes and muffins.

      Like

  5. Thanks! Appreciate the response. I tried incorporating low carb wraps and pita breads back into my diet earlier this year after 2 1/2 years of no grain. Began experiencing hip pain in the AM along with severe diarrhea, did my research and soon learned about the link between grains and inflammation, etc. Took 3 fricken months for the hip pain to subside, so, it just ain’t worth it! LOL
    Your recipes are so interesting and certainly different. You must spend 90% of your life in the kitchen!

    Like

    • Well, I cook 3xdaily just for our regular meals. Then if I bake something, often a fourth time. Not sure that constitutes 90% of my waking hours. Must not, since I spend so dang much time reading other recipe blogs and my low-carb forums. 😉 I’m retired, so my time is my own these days. And I love to create in the kitchen, so it’s like another hobby, really. 🙂

      Like

  6. Do you know if Oat Fiber contains gluten? This recipe is intriguing but I sure don’t want to wake up with arthritic-like pain again in the AM!

    Like

    • It’s my understanding oats have gluten. Googling, this website says on the list of foods to avoid: oat fiber. http://www.celiacdisease.net/gluten-free-diet. So I’d omit it in any of my recipes that call for it. The item will cook OK, but won’t have quite as nice a texture or “floury” flavor. I use it to make what otherwise would be an all flax taste and turn it into something that tastes like it was made with some real flour.

      Like

Leave a Comment

