Ro-Tel® Breakfast Stack

Ro-Tel® Breakfast Stack (2)Lately I’m trying to push more of my protein (40-50g) intake to breakfast for its ability to stave off snacking desires the rest of the day.  Part of the Leptin protocol, doing that really does work to fight mid-morning and mid-afternoon snack cravings!  If you make a smaller sausage patty (3 oz.) you can lower calories and fat. Here’s a breakfast (or lunch) gets you close to that protein goal in a hurry!  This recipe is also Induction friendly!  I didn’t think to garnish this with green onion, but in retrospect, I think that would add something and will do so next time and note it as an optional garnish below.  The nutritional info below indicates this combination of ingredients makes for a VERY nutritious breakfast! 🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or: DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


5 oz. pork sausage (I use homemade: 

2 T. solids from can of Ro-Tel® tomatoes & green chiles

1 large egg

1¼ oz. grated Monterrey Jack Cheese

1 tsp. green onion, chopped (optional garnish)

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Form a patty with the pork sausage making a slight depression in the center to help contain the egg that will sit there.  Brown to nearly done stage in non-stick skillet.  Top with the tomato/chile solids.  Then break the egg into the well.  Top with cheese and bake at 350º for about 12 minutes.  At 12 minutes, the yolk was done enough, but still soft…just not runny.  If you like it runny, cook for less time.  Top with chopped green onion if desired and ENJOY!

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 1 serving which contains:

658 calories

52.8 g  fat

2.6 g carbs, .6 g fiber, 2.0 g NET CARBS

40.9 g  protein 726 mg sodium

* NOTE   If you use a 3 oz. meat patty and only 1 oz. cheese, you can lower the numbers to:  452 calories, 36 g  fat, 2.3g carbs, 0.5g fiber, 1.8 g  net carbs, 29g protein, 576 mg sodium

19 comments on “Ro-Tel® Breakfast Stack

  1. I read a lot of the suggestions and tried the muffin tin, but inside it. I thought I had fresh sausage but found I didn’t after I’d started, so I used pre-cooked spicy sausage patties (frozen). After thawing them, I found the gut perfectly inside a muffin tin. There was a tiny bit of egg overflow but not messy. Here’s what the finished product looked like:Low Carb Rotel Sausage Stack


  2. I did the muffin tin upside down for the sausage. I precook sausage on Sunday and then. I put the egg inside and cook in oven for freshness during the week ! so good!!


    • This is such a large meat pattie I don’t think you could press that much down into a muffin tin. I suppose you could divide it into 3 or 4 portions and accomplish that, but each “muffin” wouldn’t get a whole egg. I’ve just never done them that way so I’ve never had anything to reheat. Plus I personally don’t care for things with egg reheated. Makes eggs rubbery to me.


  3. You can cook the pork on the “wrong” side of a muffin tin in the oven (make sure you have a deep cookie sheet under the muffin pan for fat run-off) for the original cooking to make the well deep enough. The edges were a little crispy after the final baking, but I enjoy that so it wasn’t a problem for me. Great recipe!


    • That’s a very clever idea, Angel, especially for when serving to company. I’ve seen that done a lot, meat cups. But you’d have to divide the meat and cook over multiple cups. Don’t think you could get this much sausage around one inverted mold. Maybe two or three? But certainly doable.🙂


    • Great idea although I have a suggestion for people who don’t like crispy edges. All you have to do is wrap a little foil around the edge of the sausage, like you would do for a pie to keep the edges from getting dark. I think I would like the crispy edges though.\


    • This was a 5 oz. meat patty. That’s pretty big to try and cram into muffin cup, even a jumbo muffin cup, or a muffin top pan. You could make very small ones, but you’re going to have to recalculate all the nutritional stats according to how you bread them down to smaller units.


  4. I cooked this this morning and it was scrumptious! however when I made the depression for the egg it flattened out when I partially first cooked it so hard to get all the food in the centre… any suggestions?


    • I would just recommend making a deeper depression next time perhaps. As you can see in the pic, even my egg ran a little out of my depression as well. Unless you make the depression large/deep enough for the egg size, you’re going to get a little “run off”, especially with a larger egg. Doesn’t spoil the taste any. If you would prefer to “contain” the egg more, you might try an almost doughnut shape (total hole in the middle) so there is a virtual “well” for the egg to stay inside.


      • thank you, I had made a deep depression but the depression filled back up when the meat was cooking. Next time I will try an almost doughnut shape and have it extend closer to the sides so hopefully it stays! But it was still very delicious.


Leave a Comment

