Italian Herb Bread

Click to enlarge

Italian Herb Bread

I modified Jamie Van Eaton’s recipe for Cauliflower Pizza Crust  and came up with a nice little Italian bread that I think would be a great compliment to any Italian dinner. It has a slightly breadier texture if allowed to cool a bit before buttering and eating.  If eaten hot right out of the oven, it’s a little too spongy/eggy for my liking. But as it cools, it takes on a breadier texture.  This bread doesn’t rise very much, so it’s easiest to just spread the butter on top of the flat pieces of bread, rather than attempting to slice it.  I may leave the parsley out next time as I could not really taste it much.

I’m very pleased with this result.  The flavor was quite nice.  Since the oat fiber is basically a carb wash at 26 g carbs and 26g fiber per 1/3 cup, I would think you could try this at any rung of OWL unless you find you do not tolerate even this tiny amount of oat fiber without setting off cravings.  I’ve been cooking with it for a year now and have not found that to happen after eating anything with a bit of it included.

Next time I’m going to try this as a plain cheddar cheese bread (without herbs)!🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1½ c. riced, steamed cauliflower

2 small eggs

1½ c. mozzarella, grated

1 T. Parmesan cheese

1½ tsp. baking powder

1 T. chopped parsley

¼ tsp. oregano

Sprinkle each garlic and onion powder

2 T. heavy cream

3 T. golden flax meal

2 T. oat fiber (substitute 2 T. Jennifer Eloff’s Gluten-Free Bake Mix for gluten free version)

1 T. olive oil for oiling muffin cups

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Using grater or food processor, rice cauliflower until fine and scrap into into a medium bowl.  Microwave (covered) on HI for 3 minutes, stopping and stirring after each minute.   Add mozzarella and Parmesan cheese to the warm cauliflower.  Beat in the eggs.  Add all remaining ingredients except the olive oil.  Stir well to blend ingredients.  Oil 12 muffin cups and scoop about 2T. batter into each muffin cup.  Repeat with any remaining batter to distribute amongst the 12 muffins.  Pop into 350º oven and bake about 25 minutes or until nicely browned.  Cool a few minutes before removing from pan and serve warm with butter.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:    Makes 12 rolls/servings, each contains:

81.5 calories

5.81 g  fat

3.1 g  carbs, 1.92 g  fiber, 1.28 g  NET CARBS

5.41 g  protein

217 mg sodium


12 comments on “Italian Herb Bread

  1. I have commented before I just love all your concoctions and appreciate you sharing them. I miss bread and hard rolls so much on this plan, I havent found one I am totally satisfied with yet. I want to try this one but If this is a carb wash why cant it be used on induction??

    Two other questions how do you rice your cauliflower? My husband is from England, over there the indian food to them is like Mcdonalds here. He loves loves loves Indian, did I say loves? I like a few dishes myself and I love to go to the lunch buffett with him, but since I cant seem to get a clear answer from what some of them put in their sauces what are your thoughts on eating at those restaurants besides the obvious breads and rice grrrrrrr on their lovely garlic nans. Thanks for input and wonderful site!


    • So glad you enjoy my recipes, Michelle. It so makes this website worthwhile. I’m strictly following DANDR guidelines of nothing grain before the grains rung of OWL. I have never bought into the “anything low carb <3g NC is OK" that is mentioned in NANY. So as to whether you want to "test the waters" and have it during Induction is your call really. Personally, I'd at least wait until you move from Induction to OWL, so as not to possibly mess up your ketosis status and ridding yourself of carb craving Induction is meant to accomplish. Once you've been in OWL awhile and feel you are continuing to have steady weight loss, you could try it one time and see if it starts you to craving/binging on carbs again. It frankly doesn't me. But I don't know if it will have a negative impact on YOU.

      On Indian restaurants, I just avoid the fried, battered foods, bread, rice and anything with chick peas and lentils for now, at least. I tend to eat the tandoori chicken and wings, the creamed spinach and the cucumber salads. Sometimes I can enjoy the mixed vegetable or cauliflower curries and mushroom dishes. Much Indian food is quite low-carb actually.

      Yes, the cauliflower in this is riced and I do it in my food processor. Much less of a mess on the counter than grating really.


  2. Just came across your site. The Italian Herb Bread recipe looks very interesting. What do you think of using chia seeds in place of the oat fiber?


    • I’ve never used chia seeds, so I couldn’t say. If they are ground, you could certainly try it one time. Oat fiber gives a floury taste to baked goods. I don’t know if chia seeds does that or not. Sorry I can’t be of more help on that, Pat.


  3. I got my oat fiber from Honeyville and when I went gluten free emailed them and asked if theirs was gluten free. They wrote back and said that theirs was not gluten free, unfortunately, so I have a whole canister full of it and can’t use it. But I’m thinking of trying your recipe with resistant corn starch in place of the oat fiber. Hopefully they’ll turn out.


    • Why thank you so much for taking the time to let me know this, Ginny, since I use Honeyville oat fiber as well. I’ll store that information in my memory banks. I think some folks do sub RCS for oat fiber. I was reading another LC food blog just this evening and they said you could do that in one particular recipe I was reading. So I think that sub will work fine.🙂


  4. I am new to your site. I look forward to trying this bread. I am a bit confused tho. You mention to put batter in a muffin tin, but your picture shows small squares. I would prefer the squares. How do you bake them into squares?


    • Welcome to my site, Aferdita! Oh, I used a square muffin pan I found a few months ago at a Tuesday Morning. Just saw one at my local Target yesterday, so they’re around, ya just have to check the baking pans area in various department stores. Mine is a non-stick and I just love it. These make lovely brownies. I’ev even made square biscuits in this pan. 🙂


  5. Thank you so much. I actually have a container of oat fiber in my pantry which I believe I purchased a year or so ago from Netrition. I went to their site as well but didn’t find any definite information. It sucks.

    But I guess on the positive side, I now know what was causing that damn pain in my hips every AM, and the excessive trips to the WC. LOL

    It’s been quite eye-opening for me to learn that something so simple as gluten can cause so much distress for so many people. Crap, I grew up eating PB & J sandwiches, for my entire childhood! Now I see many books out there on this very subject.


  6. Gluten in oat fiber? I’ve done some searching, some sites say oat fiber is safe, while others have a reminder that oats and wheat are often stored and processed in close quarters, etc. I find your recipes so interesting and would love to try them, but I sure don’t want to wake up in the AM with hip pain again. It took three long months for the inflammation to subside after eating low carb wraps and pita bread back in May.


    • Linda, I just don’t know the answer to that. There’s not much on the net about oat fiber, other than the Honeyville brand I use is about 94% pure, nondigestible fiber. But that 6% could be an issue for folks like you. I’m just not familiar with the different types of oats and which are OK for you GF folks. You could contact the maker of your particular brand of oat fiber direct and ask them for more detail on the typie of oats in their product and how it is processed. Apparently it depends on what type of oats are used as to whether the oat product is safe or not for Celiac sufferers, from what I can tell Googling. Sorry I’m not more familiar with gluten-free dietary needs.


Leave a Comment

