Individual Lemon Cake

Individual Lemon Cake 0053

I don’t like having cake leftover offering repeated temptation, so I’m developing individual versions that just serve one person (or 2) so when it’s gone, it’s gone. 🙂

I like this served warm with butter for breakfast, or iced for dessert.  When doing citrus desserts, rather than extracts, I like to use Boyajian Citrus Oils. They pack a stronger flavor punch and the tiny bottles last forever it seems.  I have seen this at high end grocery stores, but ordered my set of lemon-lime-orange direct from Boyajian on-line some years ago.  I absolutely LOVE the stuff for baking!

This recipe is not suitable until the grains rung of OWL.  Please note that oat fiber is NOT the same thing as oat flour or oat bran.  Those are considerably higher in carbs.  Oat fiber, virtually pure fiber, is a carb wash.  It can be ordered on-line from or Honeyvillegrains.

Individual Lemon Layer Cake

Baked in 4×4 dish, cut into layers and frosted.

OPTIONAL FROSTING:  Substitute lemon juice and zest into this recipe .

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented chefs to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in her cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 T. melted butter, unsalted

2 eggs, beaten

1/8 tsp. Boyajian lemon oil (or ¼ tsp. lemon extract)

1 tsp. grated lemon zest

2 T. golden flax meal

2 T. almond flour

2 tsp. oat fiber

6 drops liquid Splenda

2 pkts. stevia sweetener

½ tsp. baking powder

DIRECTIONS:   In a 4″ ramekin or small bowl, melt the butter in a microwave for 30 seconds.  Beat in the egg, liquid Splenda and lemon oil.   Add lemon zest and stir again.  Now add dry ingredients and stir until batter is smooth.  Microwave on HI for about 1 minute 10 seconds or until done in the center.  Tip out onto plate, slice and serve.  This would be good with a lemon cream cheese frosting.  See my Lime Frosting and just substitute lemon zest/juice for the lime in that recipe.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 2 servings, each contains::

168 calories

15 g fat

7.05 g  carbs, 4.75 g  fiber, 2.30 g  NET CARBS

6 g  protein

280 mg sodium

12 comments on “Individual Lemon Cake

  1. is there anything that could go in place of the oat fiber?

    I haven’t bought that yet but have stocked a bunch of other LC baking supplies.

    I have coconut flakes, all-purpose flour, thickener (Dixie Diners), xanthan gum, carbquik, whey protein powder, and golden flax seeds (meal), plus about 1 cup coconut flour/meal and 2/3 cup unblanched almond meal (NOW brand – I didn’t realize it was meal, not flour until I read your posts! very informative.)

    I want to try some recipes in the nuker before I commit to my real desire: birthday cake!: (see below)

    ( I am personally searching the archives for a strawberry egg-white cake adaptation.. tried to make one from scratch years ago and it was tough due to the inclusion of simmered strawberries in the batter… and now I want to try it LC!)

    LC baking is much harder than LC cooking… So far I’ve had OK success with dixie diner’s popover recipe, flat, salty biscuits from the carbquik drop recipe (added some heavy cream and 1/2 t each of baking powder and soda, too!) and some good gravy from top round drippings. So far I haven’t tried making any scratch bread and have purchased some loaves of LC bread from netrition isntead. I hate kneading and don’t stock yeast nor do I have a bread maker. However, I may try your foccacia recipe… sounds easy!


    • You’ll really like the focaccia recipe, Emma. It’s my fav bread nowadays. On the oat fiber, there really isn’t a sub for that. What it brings to my recipes is a slight flour-y taste and a slightly smoother texture (fewer holes), so an “enhancer” really. But it’s not absolutely necessary for the item to bake correctly. You can just omit it in almost any recipe I have and it’ll bake just fine (all except my dumpling recipe, that is. :)) But if you should decide to get some, you’ll be astounded at 1. how long a bag lasts and 2. how much it improves baked goods both taste-wise and in texture.


  2. Hi.i’m new.i have candida and i’m on diet with very very low carbohid.My big proplem is that i like eating bread,but i can t eat yeast. and no wheat. do you know any receipe of bread for candida diet.
    thank you very much


    • Why thank you, Ginny. When sharing recipes gets that response, it makes it all worthwhile. You’ve got some good looking recipes yourself!🙂


    • I agree Karen. For me, a taste is usually all I want anyway, as I’ve never been a real big sweets eater. Plus, this way, you can decide if you really like a recipe well enough to make a big enough batch for family or company. These LC ingredients can be a bit pricey and you sure don’t want to waste them on a big batch of cookies or muffins you end up not liking. 🙂


    • Yes, I’m doing a lime version with the lime cream cheese frosting for hubby tomorrow morning. I’m eating well under 20 carbs daily right now doing my Atkins ’72 regimen, but hubby is glad to remind me HE’s not! 🙂 These will make the menu when I get closer to goal though.


        • So as not to create a humongous reply, I’ll post a link that points to a discussion of it on Low Carb Friends forums. This covers 1972 version of Atkins (earliest version), which basically has you eating meat, fish, poultry, plenty of good fats, only salad vegetables in the beginning. Very little cream or dairy allowed actually. So keeping to <20 TOTAL (not net) carbs is pretty easy if you follow those guidelines and do no cheating. I won't stick with this strict a regimen forever, but it's breaking a 17 month stall, so I will for awhile. Here’s that link:


Leave a Comment

