Mexicali Casserole

Mexicali Casserole

Mexicali Casserole

I often do this casserole when I crave Mexican food.  This goes together real fast and I often just bake it off in the same skillet I use to saute the meat mixture.  Please note I use Eden black soy beans in this recipe, not regular black beans!  They are MUCH lower in carbs than any other legumes.  This dish is not acceptable until the legumes rung of OWL, but if you omit the beans, you could have this during Induction. I know it sounds odd, but when I omit the beans, I usually add 1-2 c. finely shredded lettuce to this recipe.  It keeps it from being quite so rich and heavy in my opinion.  Adds an interesting flavor, too. :)  Guajillo chiles are available dried (I’ve never seen them fresh anywhere). They come in clear plastic bags and can be found in most grocery store produce areas.  They are quite mild in heat factor, but give much flavor to a recipe.  The pic below right shows you what to look for at the store.   I like to take about half the bag, stem and seed them and grind them up coarsely in my food processor and store in my spice cabinet so I don’t have go go through that process each time I use a couple in a recipe. 🙂

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


1 lb. ground beef

½ c. canned Eden black soy beans

3 oz. onion, chopped

1 lg. clove minced garlic

1 dried guajillo chili, seeded, hydrated and chopped (see picture at right)

½ c. Ro-Tel tomatoes and chiles, drained solids only

Dash of chipotle chili powder

2 tsp. chili powder (I use a 1:2 mix of chimayo chile powder and Bolner’s Fiesta Brand)

1 tsp. ground cumin

1/3 c. chopped cilantro

4 oz. grated cheese (I generally use a 50:50 mix of American/Cheddar)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350º.  Cut stem off the guajillo chile, rehydrate pepper in hot water for a few minutes until soft and chop fine.  Drain off water.   Brown meat in non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onion and saute until pretty tender.  Add and stir in all remaining ingredients except the cheese.  Saute a few minutes for flavors to meld.  If you wish to transfer to pretty serving dish rather than bake int eh skillet, pour into that greased dish.  Top with grated cheese.   Pop into preheated 350º oven for about 20-25 minutes or until cheese is melted and casserole is bubbling around the edges.  Serve with a nice guacamole salad.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:   Makes 4 servings, each contains:

452 calories

29.5 g  fat

7.58 g  carbs, 2.95 g  fiber, 4.63 g  NET CARBS

39.88 g  protein

909 mg sodium

By Peggy Posted in Beef

4 comments on “Mexicali Casserole

  1. I love your recipes and would like to make this one. Where do you buy the soy black beans? I live in NY and have looked in every supermarket to no avail. I even asked my son who lives in N. Carolina to look at Kroger and he hasn’t found them either. Even the places that carry Eden bean products don’t carry them. I love your chile recipe and make it on a regular basis minus the beans.


    • Google Eden soy black beans. I have ordered a case direct from Eden on-line; I have ordered a case from Amazon when they had a deal on them. Probably other suppliers out there, too. I’m so glad you like my chili. I’ve used that recipe for years, all but the guajillo chiles, as I only just “discovered” them (and how mild they are) a couple years ago. 🙂


    • Goni, there’s only 1 net carb in 1/2 cup Eden black soy beans, so the carb count doesn’t really drop much dropping out the beans……only a .25 NC drop. It’s the one bean that is very low in carbs, unlike most other types of beans.


Leave a Comment

