Pork in Portobello Cream

Click to enlarge

Pork in Portobello Cream

I absolutely love pork braised in any type of sauce, the creamier the better.  A splash of white wine can be added to this if you are in OWL, but if still in Induction, skip the wine.  This dish takes about 15 minutes to throw into the oven and it is done in about 45 minutes of baking.   I love how it pretty much cooks itself.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in each of the 5 volumes! Order your set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or: http://amongfriends.us/order.php

DISCLAIMER: I am not paid for this book promotion nor for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection


2    4-5 oz. pork chops or boneless pork loin

2 oz. onion, sliced

1 stalk celery, sliced

1 T. butter

1 medium portobello mushroom, sliced (about 1 cup)

½ c. cream

¼ c. water

Dash salt and pepper

1 T. fresh rosemary, chopped

1/2 tsp. minced dehydrated onion

DIRECTIONS:   Preheat oven to 350º.  Melt butter over high heat in a non-stick skillet.  Sear chops well on both sides and lift out onto plate while you saute the onion and celery in the remaining butter until tender. Add mushrooms and saute until it begins to get tender.  Add water and cream, salt and pepper.  Place chops atop this mixture and sprinkle rosemary and minced onion over all.  Bake uncovered at 350º for about 45 minutes or until meat is done and tender.  I served with fresh green beans:

Click to enlarge

Click to enlarge

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 2 servings, each contains:

370 calories

29 g  fat

7.5 g  carbs, 2.05 g  fiber, 5.45 g  NET CARBS

20 g protein

175 mg sodium

By Peggy Posted in Pork

9 comments on “Pork in Portobello Cream

  1. We use boneless pork loin steaks frequently, as they are readily available, lean, and relatively inexpensive at the local Sam’s Club. This recipe would be a nice change of pace from grilling (not that I don’t LOVE them grilled, but it’s good to have variety!). This is on my to-do-soon list🙂


    • Hope you enjoy it, Angmar156. I use loin in dishes like this a lot, as it is so lean and prone to be dry, this braised method of cooking is particularly nice for moistening it up a bit.🙂


  2. I did this with a pork tenderloin but instead of dehydrated onions, I used fresh green onions with the baby portabello mushrooms. Of course the cooking time was a bit longer but it turned out great.


  3. Great recipe, Peggy! I like preparing pork chops in the oven, but I usually just bake them with butter and onions, and that has nothing on this cream sauce. It’s wonderful! The rosemary is definitely essential; it adds an amazing flavor!

    I followed the recipe with a couple changes. The store was out of portobellos, so I had to sub cremini mushrooms (“baby bellas”) and I didn’t add the dehydrated onion. I also added a little bit of soy sauce, which my mother always adds to mushrooms. So, not TOO different from the recipe…

    Anyway, this is definitely a keeper in my house. Thank you!



    • Well I’m delighted you like that dish, Erica. It’s been a long time “keeper” in my house, too. I do have to confess, though I love fresh onion, the dehydrated brings a unique flavor twist on rosemary that the fresh just doesn’t bring. Not sure exactly what that flavor synergy is, but I sure do like it with pork/rosemary dishes. I often use BOTH in recipes for that very reason. You might try it sometime and see if you don’t agree. 🙂


Leave a Comment

