Coconut Pie

Coconut Pie

Coconut Pie

This delicious pie can be made with a sweetened whipped cream topping, with a baked meringue topping, or simply served with a low-carb vanilla ice cream.  We prefer a whipped cream topping, so that’s what is shown above.  The nutritional information below is for the crust and coconut custard filling only.  Add whatever topping you decide to put on this.  This coconut custard can also be made without a crust by baking the filling in a buttered dish.  If making crustless as a custard, I would think it better served warm.  :)  This recipe is not suitable until the nuts rung of the Atkins OWL phase.  I used to be able to get my Coconutti extract at Kroger, but as we don’t have one here, I have to order direct from Select Products.

More delicious low-carb recipes can be at your fingertips with your very own set of Jennifer Eloff and friends’ best-selling cookbooks LOW CARBING AMONG FRIENDS.  She has collaborated with famous low-carb Chef George Stella and several other talented cooks to bring you a wealth of delicious recipes you are going to want to try.  Even a few of my recipes are in the cookbooks! Order your 5-volume set TODAY! (also available individually) from Amazon or:

DISCLAIMER: I do not get paid for this book promotion or for the inclusion of my recipes therein.  I do so merely because they are GREAT cookbooks any low-carb cook would be proud to add to their cookbook collection.


1 recipe Peggy’s “Flour” Pie Crust:

½ c. + 2T. heavy cream

1 c. unsweetened coconut milk

½ c. erythritol

Liquid sweetener equivalent to ¼ c. sugar (I used 6 drops EZsweets)

7 beaten eggs

1 tsp. Coconutti extract (or 1 tsp. regular coconut extract + few drops of vanilla)

2 T. coconut butter (I use Artisana brand)

½ c. (1.5 oz) unsweetened coconut + 1T. toasted for garnish

1/8 tsp. salt

DIRECTIONS:   Make pie crust per that recipe’s instructions and place into a glass pie plate.  Set aside while you make the filling.  Preheat oven to 350º and toast 1 T. coconut flakes on a pan for 3-5 minutes at 350º.  Place coconut milk, cream and erythritol in a saucepan and heat just to a boil and remove from heat.  Stir in Splenda, coconut extract and salt.  In a medium mixing bowl, beat the eggs well and add the coconut butter.  Add 1 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes (all but the 1 T. you toasted for garnish).  Slowly stir the coconut milk/cream mixture into the egg mixture and blend well.  Pour the filling your pie shell (it will be very full) and carefully set into the hot oven. Bake for approximately 1 hour or until the center is firming up to the touch and a knife stuck into the center comes out clean.  This filling will dome up incredibly during baking, so do not be alarmed.  It will fall level with the crust when done and it cools.  If you plan to make a meringue, do so according to your recipe directions.  Spread meringue atop the pie, and bake as instructed.  If using a whipped cream topping, chill pie COMPLETELY before adding the topping. This pie should be stored in the refrigerator.

NUTRITIONAL INFO:  Makes 8 servings, each contains: (does not include whipped or meringue topping)

327 calories

30.8 g  fat

14.46 g  carbs, 8.63 g  fiber, 5.83 g  NET CARBSs

10.33 g  protein

195 mg sodium

6 comments on “Coconut Pie

  1. Hi Thanks so much for having this blog. I’ve got very bored with my low carb recipes and have wanted to try something new. With the holidays coming up I am very concerned about the foods. This recipes sounds great as many of your others. I do have a specific question. I was wondering what the purpose is of the oat fiber? Is it a must in the recipes? Especially the pie crust. I have all the ingredients here except for that. Thanks.


    • Angela, the oat fiber is essential to the pie crust having a “flour” taste and to be so dry and crisp. Without it, your crust will be softer, soggier on day two, and not so flaky. In other words, it’ll turn out “short” just like all the other low-carb almond pie crusts, (short, is the term for a crust more cookie like and crumbly). I just haven’t liked ANY of the LC recipes for pie crust I’ve tried………until I discovered this stuff.


      • Thank you so much for the reply. I’ve already told my family for the Holidays we will not be doing sugar. I am replace all my traditional recipes with low carb. I am definitely going to try this. Thanks a bunch for posting your recipes.


  2. I love you for this, you just have no idea. I’ve been wanting to work out how to make this very same pie and now here it is. Thank you more than you know🙂


Leave a Comment

